Advice for speeding up rendering of hdv footage on my pc please... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition
Topics about HD production.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 22nd, 2006, 01:49 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brighton
Posts: 92
Advice for speeding up rendering of hdv footage on my pc please...

Hey all, got my fx1 over the weekend and absolutly love the image quality, captured no problem at all but any colour correction/de interlacing/after effects takes a long time on my pc... i know hdv contains much more information than dv but i am hoping to speed up the process... ive tried using cineform aspect and its a great improvement but still rather sluggish

im running

pentium 3.4ghz
2gb of ram
128mb gecube x700 radeon graphics card

would i be best to upgrade?

thanks

Stick
Stick Tully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2006, 02:21 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 154
Is it XP?

i dont really know all that much about HDV but to help speed up XP, i recommend this.

http://www.computerforum.com/54420-t...indows-xp.html

it really makes a difference. it may only be a little but its made a big difference to the performance of computer.
__________________
www.basicproduction.co.uk
Liam Carlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2006, 03:40 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
AspectHD will run fine with this specs, provided you have 7200rpm drives with plenty of space.

Without some numbers its hard to say if its more "sluggish" than it should be with those specs. Rendering is never speedy, but you should have real-time scrubbing and preview...
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2006, 03:50 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: LOWESTOFT - UK
Posts: 2,125
with that pc - you should have an advantage on many of us anyway - perhaps you're just expecting a little too much?
Paul R Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006, 08:02 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 917
Now, honestly...


How good are Aspect HD's cineform files compared to real MT2's?

I see that when I pause a Cineform file, the colour space reverts back to HD and it looks so much better...
Matthew Nayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006, 09:04 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 376
Get yourself a big and fast firewire 800 extenal drive, store your footage on this and not on your internal drive.
Lee Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006, 10:11 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
When you play the file, you are probably seeing it displayed via the graphics card's "overlay" surface. Nvidia cards in particular often have a mismatch in color settings between overlay and non-overlay display. The Cineform website has information on how to get them matching.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006, 10:45 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stick Tully
...any colour correction/de interlacing/after effects takes a long time on my pc...
Are you talking about editing itself being sluggish, or the render time back out to a finished video file? The latter can be time-consuming even on today's fastest computers depending on what you're doing, because there's a huge number of calculations involved. In the long run it would be best to upgrade to at least a dual-core processor and maybe even a quad-core setup, and make sure other components (e.g. hard drives) are also current.

Whatever performance you got on your computer with DV, expect 1/4 of that or less in HDV (1080i) because there's over 4 times as much data. That's a big performance hit.
Kevin Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006, 04:47 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mesa, AZ USA
Posts: 35
Here's what you do...

First, switch out whatever hard drive you are running and instead, run a pair of Western Digital 10,000 RPM Raptors, and put them in a RAID 0.

Second, switch out your processor and get the new Intel Core 2 Duo 6600 or 6700. (you will need a motherboard upgrade)

Doesn't hurt to upgrade RAM, especially when you are working with file sizes that large, but don't expect much of a performance increase. Video card upgrade won't help either because it's CPU intensive.

Lastly, upgrade your OS to XP Pro 64 bit edition. I've heard of increases of RAM performance which will give you a slight edge.

Doing these things will probably halve your rendering time. CPU increases will give decent improvements to games, but in number crunching scenarios such as rendering, it's almost always the most performance increase you can get.

All in all this will cost 1200-1300. Not the most efficiant increase you can do with your money since you're coming off a P4 3.4, but if you want to increase it, thats what you do.

Jon
Jon Snyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006, 04:50 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mesa, AZ USA
Posts: 35
It is true that quad cores are coming out this month (in theory, next year in practice), however it will take software copanies a few months AT LEAST to offer patches to utilize it. Factor in 6-9 month drop of prices to become reasonable and you're waiting a full year - not worth it.
Jon Snyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006, 05:59 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
First, switch out whatever hard drive you are running and instead, run a pair of Western Digital 10,000 RPM Raptors, and put them in a RAID 0.

Why would that help? HDV has essentially the same datarate as DV.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2006, 03:58 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brighton
Posts: 92
Thanks for all your help people... i turned off open gl in after effects and its all running much better now

1200 would be a lot for an upgrade so i'll stick with what ive got for now
thankyou again

Stick
Stick Tully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2006, 05:58 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
Yes Graham, I would also question some of the logic offered here.
Dual Raptors will not offer any substantial benefits over two standard 7200rpm drives. Only a much, much bigger price tag. As well I have difficulties understanding the recommendation for a big external firewire 800 drive. Sure an external drive is nice to have if one has a need for portability, but doesn't have any advantage over simply adding another internal drive, which will cost a lot less.
Having a separate physical drive(Not simply a partition) for O/S and programs, and one(or preferred a RAID) for video files, and one or more as needed for storage. De-frag often. Second is learn what Stick has already done, learn to tweak the software for better performance.
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2006, 08:29 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Hodson
Yes Graham, I would also question some of the logic offered here.
Dual Raptors will not offer any substantial benefits over two standard 7200rpm drives. Only a much, much bigger price tag. As well I have difficulties understanding the recommendation for a big external firewire 800 drive. Sure an external drive is nice to have if one has a need for portability, but doesn't have any advantage over simply adding another internal drive, which will cost a lot less.
Having a separate physical drive(Not simply a partition) for O/S and programs, and one(or preferred a RAID) for video files, and one or more as needed for storage. De-frag often. Second is learn what Stick has already done, learn to tweak the software for better performance.
I second this advice. Your motherboard may not support a Core Duo either. OS, storage, and render drives are probably the biggest benefit for your configuration. Watch the prices too. New dual cores that would be good for editing are rapidly approaching the $1000 mark.
George Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2006, 03:09 PM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
My understanding is that if you are going to edit in the original "native" m2t file format you need max processing power, but the data rate is about the same as DV.
If you are editing in the Cineform CFHD intermediate format, it is not as processor intensive, but the data rate is about 4X that of DV- so you need bigger and faster drives (DV 1 hr = about 12 Gig, CFHD 1 hr = about 40 Gig.). Internal 7,200 RPM SATA RAID 0 seems to be quite adequate.
Robert Young is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:29 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network