Any other cam other than the Z1u downconverting? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition
Topics about HD production.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 4th, 2007, 09:46 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Any other cam other than the Z1u downconverting?

Just wondering, I'm in the pre pre market to get a set of twins for my z1u.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 09:50 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Sorry, I'm confused as to what you're asking. You could shoot a tape with your Z1 and capture it with downconversion using an FX1, FX7, V1, A1, HC1, HC3, etc. However the Z1 has more downconversion options than some of those other cameras.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 10:20 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Sorry, posted that question in the middle of a haze apparently.

I have a Z1u, and I am researching other cameras because I want to go fully HD, but I still like the downconverting that my Z1 does. So that was my basis for my question. I will eventually start editing HD, but for now it's nice to have the SD downconvert. Even though new cameras will come out, I was trying to figure out what other HD cameras downconvert to sd for capture. I may want to get something other than my Z1, so I have more flexibility.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?

Last edited by Steven Davis; February 5th, 2007 at 05:01 PM.
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2007, 07:42 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 978
The Canon XH-A1 can downconvert :)
__________________
Simple Thought Productions - Life @ 30,000 Words per second
Josh Chesarek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2007, 08:19 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Thanks Josh. As I said above, I have a Z1u, and I'm llooking for a set of twins to complement it to give me the trifecta of coverage, easy color correction etc.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2007, 09:20 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
It seems to me anyway that a different approach would be (better??) to shoot in HD and then use Cineform to convert to AVI, then edit, then output
to SD or HD... this way you get to keep the original HD content and you can distribute on DVD now, then later if you want to distribute on HD you still have the original HD...
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2007, 10:42 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
That's an option, I just am looking for two cams atm.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > General HD (720 / 1080) Acquisition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:29 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network