Procoder 3:Problem on Playback of wmv(audio) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Grass Valley / Canopus NLE

Grass Valley / Canopus NLE
All flavors of Edius; other Grass Valley / Canopus software & hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 1st, 2008, 09:47 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brunswick, GA
Posts: 4
Procoder 3:Problem on Playback of wmv(audio)

I have started using Procoder 3 to convert avi files to wmv for streaming video for our website. When I play it back in the WM player it plays fine, but if I move the scroll bar, the audio cuts out and I have to replay it to get audio again. Any thoughts?
Charles O. Volm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2008, 03:34 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles O. Volm View Post
I have started using Procoder 3 to convert avi files to wmv for streaming video for our website. When I play it back in the WM player it plays fine, but if I move the scroll bar, the audio cuts out and I have to replay it to get audio again. Any thoughts?
Not being an expert on the subject, this sounds more like a RAM or cpu power issue. Apart from that maybe encoding settings. Try encoding to a smaller, lighter file and see what happens.
Themis Gyparis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2008, 08:33 AM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brunswick, GA
Posts: 4
Procoder 3:Problem on Playback of wmv(audio) - solved

Quote:
Originally Posted by Themis Gyparis View Post
Not being an expert on the subject, this sounds more like a RAM or cpu power issue. Apart from that maybe encoding settings. Try encoding to a smaller, lighter file and see what happens.
I did an interesting thing - I tried playing it on another PC and it played fine. The WM player must have a glitch in it or something. THX
Charles O. Volm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2008, 08:39 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Allen, Texas U.S.A
Posts: 1,117
charles,

what version is your media player? did you download its upgrade? WM10 is ok.

Ted
Ted Ramasola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2008, 09:34 AM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brunswick, GA
Posts: 4
Procoder 3:Problem on Playback of wmv(audio) - solved

Funny thing-- both WM Players are version 9 with identical settings. One works, the other doesn't.
Charles O. Volm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2008, 10:32 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Allen, Texas U.S.A
Posts: 1,117
Charles,

WM player sometimes will use codecs installed by other software. For instance, in one of my PCs i installed digisuite avi codec for their mjpeg files. The wm player will play this avi file while on a pc without this codec the wmp will not recognise this file.

Ted
Ted Ramasola is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Grass Valley / Canopus NLE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network