Questions about Edius Neo 2 Booster at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Grass Valley / Canopus NLE

Grass Valley / Canopus NLE
All flavors of Edius; other Grass Valley / Canopus software & hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 19th, 2009, 05:29 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 309
Questions about Edius Neo 2 Booster

If anybody here has this version, can you please tell me...

1) I read that on an Intel i7 it plays 3 AVCHD streams at the same time in real time. I have an Intel Core Quad 2.66 Ghz with 8 GB of RAM on Windows 7 64 bit. I wouldn't mind if it doesn't live up to the promise of three at the same time, but what about 2 or even 1? Currently I work with Vegas Pro 8, which is sluggish for AVCHD even with just one track.

2) Does it have smart-render? For those who don't know what I'm talking about, it's basically when the software renders the timeline to a new file, but only recompresses the segments that are absolutely necessary, such as transitions and events with filters, but leaves alone any events that you didn't touch, except for a few frames around cuts to make the file legit for the format.

3) Does this booster thing work also when rendering AVCHD material, or is it only for playback?

4) Does it use at all the GPU?

Thanks
Sebastian Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2009, 09:24 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
I've downloaded the trial version of booster. (You can download it too. It's a fully functioning 30 day trial.) Seems to work as well as it's billed. It easily plays a single AVCHD stream from the timeline, on my AMD Phenom 9850 (lower end quad), with CPU utilization hovering between 30%-40%. I don't know how they get that kind of performance unless they do use the GPU (would be a pretty dang slick trick if they don't).

I don't think Edius does smart render (would surprise me if it did). I don't know if booster gives a boost to rendering or not (haven't tried it), but you would think it would.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2010, 05:49 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 325
AVCHD is not an editable file format

Transcode the AVCHD files to Canopus HQ for Edius and then watch how fast Edius really is!
__________________
Cliff Etzel - Photographer
Website | Blog
Cliff Etzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 08:55 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
What do you exactly call "not editable"?

I can lay AVCHD files on my Edius timeline and edit them just as any other format...
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2010, 04:28 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 325
Just because you can, doesn't mean you should.
__________________
Cliff Etzel - Photographer
Website | Blog
Cliff Etzel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Grass Valley / Canopus NLE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network