Green line through footage? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Grass Valley / Canopus NLE

Grass Valley / Canopus NLE
All flavors of Edius; other Grass Valley / Canopus software & hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 6th, 2010, 05:59 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 6
Green line through footage?

I'm not sure why, but I'm getting a diagonal green line through my videos in Edius 5.. I converted my video footage from my T2i to mpeg-2 using Total Video Converter and add it to the window and this line appears on top of it. When I play the video in Media Player, the line isnt present. Any ideas?

Last edited by Ricky Austin; April 6th, 2010 at 06:14 PM. Reason: wrong media player
Ricky Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 06:34 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Allen, Texas U.S.A
Posts: 1,117
Post a frame grab.
__________________
Ted Ramasola
http://ramasolaproductions.com
Ted Ramasola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 09:25 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 6
Heres what it looks like:

http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/members/...0406-00000.jpg

http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/members/...0406-00000.jpg
Ricky Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 10:16 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Allen, Texas U.S.A
Posts: 1,117
Are you sure the software is not demo? it looks like a mark for expired trial software.

Your better off converting your footage within edius to HQ.
__________________
Ted Ramasola
http://ramasolaproductions.com
Ted Ramasola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 10:22 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 6
yup. I just added an avi I created a few weeks ago to it and it looks fine.

http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/members/...0406-00001.jpg

And actually, its only the mpeg-2 files that I create that are doing it.. Is there a different format I could try that will give me a quality similar or greater than the mpeg-2?
Ricky Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 10:26 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 6
well, one of the problems I'm having is whenever I try to import the raw mov file directly to Edius, the program locks up and I'm forced to shut it down via the task manager. I'm not sure why its doing this..
Ricky Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 10:38 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Allen, Texas U.S.A
Posts: 1,117
Edius works well with HQ. Thats its own codec similar to cineform. I can import into the bin my 7d files, then right click, batch convert to avi/hq.

Are you using 5.12?

If its just 5 or 5.11 then you should update it to 5.12
__________________
Ted Ramasola
http://ramasolaproductions.com
Ted Ramasola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 10:45 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 6
I'm using 5.0 actually.. It seems like everytime I try t load these non-converted mov files into any program to edit, it freezes the program up.. Not sure why.. I have a pretty decent system..
Ricky Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 10:57 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Allen, Texas U.S.A
Posts: 1,117
ver. 5.01 fixed issues loading mov files.

ver 5.12 fixed a lot more. -and is currently the most stable and compatible with avchd and other formats.
Also fixed rejection of mpeg2 files converted by third party.


So all in all there have been 12 versions from 5.0.

v4.16 which i use with my storm2 card can handle movs though.
__________________
Ted Ramasola
http://ramasolaproductions.com
Ted Ramasola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 11:02 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 6
really.. and how do I get my hands on the update?
Ricky Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 11:09 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Allen, Texas U.S.A
Posts: 1,117
you can go to the support area in Grass Valley Home | Grass Valley
__________________
Ted Ramasola
http://ramasolaproductions.com
Ted Ramasola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2010, 12:51 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricky Austin View Post
really.. and how do I get my hands on the update?
if you have not already created a user account, do so, then add your product with your serial number, then you can access product related downloads, 5.10 first and then 5.12

also, quicktime player needs to be installed before you can open any mov in Edius
__________________
Anton Strauss
www.videoproductions.com.au
Anton Strauss is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Grass Valley / Canopus NLE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:28 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network