Edius -- various questions - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Grass Valley / Canopus NLE

Grass Valley / Canopus NLE
All flavors of Edius; other Grass Valley / Canopus software & hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 24th, 2006, 03:48 PM   #16
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 116
I am looking forward to this upgrade. I don't use anything else but Edius, so it will be nice to get some enhancements. The interface does look cleaner. And having the HDV plug-in, built-in is cool too.
__________________
Scott A. Vystrcil
Equipment - Sony HVR-Z1U--Firestore FS-4 Pro HD (40GB)--Cartoni Focus F101
Editing - Canopus Edius Pro 4, Intel Pentium D 940 (3.2 GHz), 2GB, 74GB SATA 10K, 160GB SATAII, 300GB SATA, nVidia GeForce 6800 (256MB), Dell 20 in widescreen flat panel (2007WFP)
http://watersedgefrisco.com
http://vystrcil.com
Scott Vystrcil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2006, 02:13 AM   #17
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
which version of edius?

what version of edius is required to edit with the hd100? presumably it'd be a version with teh HQ codec.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2006, 07:49 AM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 789
Brian,,

Edius 3.61 works with the HD 100. It captures m2t with it calls a MPEG writer. It also captures 24p. According to their website version 4 is supposed to ship in June.
__________________
David Parks: DP/Editor: Jacobs Aerospace at NASA Johnson Space Center
https://www.youtube.com/user/JacobsESCG
David Parks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2006, 06:19 AM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 64
Edius 4.0 question

Can somebody state whether will it have an option to make use of Premiere video effect plugins?

In my opinion such an option would widen its usability greatly as most of the serius plugins are designed for Premiere use.
Milosz Krzyzaniak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2006, 08:27 AM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 131
Almost certainly it will not.

Boris Red and Adorage plugins work with Edius.
David Andrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2006, 03:51 PM   #21
Disjecta
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 937
Edius

Anyone using Pro or Broadcast with their XLH1? I'm curious as to how it natively supports the camera.
__________________
Try my Digital Therapy: http://www.pinelakefilms.com/digital_therapy.html
Films on ExposureRoom: http://exposureroom.com/members/disjecta.aspx/videos/
Steven Dempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2006, 09:13 AM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Incline Village, Nevada
Posts: 604
Edius, since version 3.61, supports the CanonH1 in HDV at all 3 frame rates including 24f.

And you do not need to spend the extra coin for the Broadcast version.
John Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2006, 10:37 AM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 79
I have edited, using Edius pro3.61, some footage from an H1, it works fine.
When imported to the bin, the program converts, in real time, the files to its own format.( Canopus HQ codec)
This involves a higher bitrate and a 4:2:2 colour sampling.
The original material isn’t going to benefit from the 4:2:2 sampling, but your graphics will!!
Brian Bang Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2006, 01:17 PM   #24
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 256
Edius 3.61 - audio pops with FS100 - SPX800

Hi. I've had the FS100 for a few weeks now and I've been able to do some testing, as well as two longer form shoots (45-70 minutes) in DVCPRO50/P2 mode, with the Panny SPX800 camera.

I've had some difficulty here/there getting synchro slave to start jiving, but once it clicks in, it's been fine.

However, I am noticing audio 'pops' or 'ticks' in the content when I place it on my Edius SP system, running 3.61. It has been a very stable system.

I have not noticed dropouts or any other significant problems, and the audio sync and color looks just fine. Every once in a while, there's a little tick that shows up, and it's always in the same place. Even if I export that section as a .wav file and open it in Sound Forge, you can see the little 'tick'.

I've posted this on the Canopus forum as well - but wanted to see if there was any news/thoughts from the Focus/Panny camps as well. I'm 99.2% there, but it's hard to completely certify this as my best workflow, if I have to hunt for ticks. BTW - the data from the P2 cards is clean...

Any thoughts?

Also - I got my larger capacity cradles for the FS4's/FS100 today. They allow the use of the thicker/extended FS batteries. They seem to work very well for the new batts, as well as the legacy batts...


Thanks much,
Shawn
Shawn Alyasiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2006, 06:46 PM   #25
Focus Enhancements
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Campbell, CA.
Posts: 508
Shawn,

Did you see if the pops/clicks are present in P2 Viewer?

Thanks,

Matt
Matt McEwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2006, 11:34 AM   #26
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: East Brunswick Nj
Posts: 8
16:9 Edius editing

I have footage (16:9) (Not HD shot with a canon XL 2) recorded on a Firestore FS 4 and want to edit it in Edius. I have Edius 1.5 in a PC whit my storm card? I am getting old and am having trouble learning all this new stuff.
Alan David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2006, 06:40 AM   #27
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 131
You should be able to edit that in the 16:9 format with v1.5. My recollection is that it has always been one of the formats available. Just make sure that you select that format when you set up your project.
David Andrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 03:26 AM   #28
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 49
What plugins are usefull for Edius 4?

What plugins for Edius are you using?
Arve Hansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2006, 02:00 AM   #29
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 49
Looks like Borisfx.com have some god stuff? Some better titiling.
Arve Hansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2006, 02:32 AM   #30
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 127
I've been checking out the site below since Adorage came with my Edius 4. The Vitascene looks very promising since it has something like the Magic Bullet Film Looks.

http://www.prodad.de/gb/host_plugins-canopus-edius.html


Ray
__________________
junray@yahoo.com
Ray Saavedra is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Grass Valley / Canopus NLE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:16 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network