EDIUS does 24p! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Grass Valley / Canopus NLE

Grass Valley / Canopus NLE
All flavors of Edius; other Grass Valley / Canopus software & hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 17th, 2006, 06:48 AM   #1
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
EDIUS does 24p!

Running EDIUS V4 on my MacBook I had captured some 1080/24p using the Canopus HQ codec using "23.98 over 59.94". This is likely an HDCAM setting.

Tonight I had time to try creating Sequences.

1) HDV 1080/29.97i showed the pulldown perfectly. The two judder frames were as they should be.

2) HDV 1080/23.98p -- which I assume is intended for the Canon -- seems to work fine.

So -- we have a big step toward 24p. Now if EDIUS had DVI output like Liquid, I could see on my HDTV.

The TC is 24p and the judder frames are gone. So maybe more than a step -- a solution.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2006, 07:11 PM   #2
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Tonight I tried exporting an "HDV 1080/23.98p" Sequence to a HDV file. Amazingly, the only option was "HDV 1080/29.97i" which was exactly what I wanted.

But, would pulldown be applied correctly during export?

I brought the exported file into a "HDV 1080/29.97i" Timeline.

The proper 3:2 pulldown was present with the A frame on "00 as it should be.

So there is one TOTAL 24p solution!

Also found out that I can connect my MacBook via DVI to my 50-inch Sony and clone the laptop desktop. The Recorder monitor is so large on a 50-inch monitor that it can easily be used for CC.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2006, 02:26 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Mullen
Also found out that I can connect my MacBook via DVI to my 50-inch Sony and clone the laptop desktop. The Recorder monitor is so large on a 50-inch monitor that it can easily be used for CC.
Steve, how do you configure Edius to have just the Recorder monitor window on a separate desktop? Both the Recorder and Player monitors share the same window. It's much easier in Mediastudio Pro or AP Pro, but with Edius?
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2006, 08:16 PM   #4
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piotr Wozniacki
Steve, how do you configure Edius to have just the Recorder monitor window on a separate desktop?
You can't. But with a 50-inch monitor about 8 feet away, the quarter-screen Record monitor is about that of a 24-inch monitor. Which for CC is very clear.

Liquid does the job correctly as does FCP. But, neither support 24p.

EDIUS does have a board that outputs HS-SDI.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2006, 05:51 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 477
Steve -

Just to clarify here, the footage you are mentioning here...did you acquire it from the V1U?

And are you using Edius Pro or Broadcast?
Andrew Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2006, 06:29 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Deep South, U.S.
Posts: 1,382
Steve,

I've been using the trial version of Edius 4 for about 2 weeks now and really like it. I am a long time Premiere 6.5 user and have been looking for a new application that I am comfortable with since I am upgrading to the HVX200 to use the DVCpro50 format. Any ideas of how to get just the monitor window out to a TV monitor with displaying the whole work screen. I know the NX board will do it, but at $1500 for Edius 4 and the NX board that is out of my range. I can afford the broadcast Edius4 version at $998.

Regards,
__________________
Mark
videos: http://vimeo.com/channels/3523
Mark Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2006, 08:27 PM   #7
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Clark
Steve -

Just to clarify here, the footage you are mentioning here...did you acquire it from the V1U?

And are you using Edius Pro or Broadcast?

Yes -- from the V1. I'm uing Broadcast but it makes no difference if you are using HDV.

There is no external monitor support. Canopus is still in the HD-SDI age not the HDMI new-age. But, if you mirror to a 50" monitor as I do -- the Record monitor is quite big.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2006, 10:14 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 477
Steve -

When you say "mirror", are you referring to displaying what you have on your computer monitor (meaning the entire desktop) on a external monitor? (Like they do at tradeshows).
Andrew Clark is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Grass Valley / Canopus NLE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:26 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network