Anyone using Boris Red 4 with Edius 4? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Grass Valley / Canopus NLE

Grass Valley / Canopus NLE
All flavors of Edius; other Grass Valley / Canopus software & hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 12th, 2007, 06:22 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dawson Creek, BC Canada
Posts: 15
Anyone using Boris Red 4 with Edius 4?

The plugin works fine with SD video but in HD it looks like the fields get reversed during a 2D or 3D transition. Works fine if I use the stand alone Red engine. Just weird when using the plugin with Edius.

Anyone?
Hank Bridgeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2007, 04:33 PM   #2
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gardabae Iceland
Posts: 3
Edius 4.1 and Boris RED 4.1

Hi

I have Edius 4.1 and Red 4.1 as a host. They works fine in SD but HDV is different. Crawling text jitter and some transitions also. It is like the codec's does not match in HDV settings. I am working on PAL 1080i 25fps. 2x3.4 g workstation 2 G Ram.

Petur Stein
Petur Steingrimsson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2007, 09:30 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Incline Village, Nevada
Posts: 604
Could it be a field order problem...

HDV is upper field first - maybe the project is set for lower field first which would not match the HDV source material?
John Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2007, 05:20 PM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gardabae Iceland
Posts: 3
Edius 4.1 and Boris Red 4.1

Hi
Yes HDV is upper field first and if Red is used standalone it is ok if imported to Edius.
But inside Edius it jitter in clawl text though the upper field is on.
More or less all positon X Y movements jitter.
SD is ok

Any suggestions?

petur stein
Petur Steingrimsson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2007, 06:11 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dawson Creek, BC Canada
Posts: 15
Edius 4.1 and Boris Red 4.1

I tryed to get in touch with Boris about this problem and never got a reply. Its strange because in Red you can set to upper or lower field order but it does not make any differance with HDV or Canopus HQ, still jiddery like the fields are reversed, in SD no problem. Using the stand alone Red engine no problem with HDV or HQ . just when using the plugin with edius 4.1

Hank
Hank Bridgeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2007, 07:55 PM   #6
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gardabae Iceland
Posts: 3
Edius 4.1 and Boris Red 4.1

Ok
So you have noticed the problem. I contacted Boris several weeks ago and described the problem but i did' t get any real answer.
So if you have the same problem it seems to me that RED 4 has not been tested sufficienty for Canopus HDV codec's.
The best is to contact Boris again and if they get inquiries from several sources they might start working on updates.

petur stein
Petur Steingrimsson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Grass Valley / Canopus NLE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network