ADVC-110 Audio Playback/Preview Question - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Grass Valley / Canopus NLE

Grass Valley / Canopus NLE
All flavors of Edius; other Grass Valley / Canopus software & hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 6th, 2005, 05:07 PM   #16
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
I've never used the ADVC, but I did fry my Storm board. After 2 years or so, I sent it in, and they sent me a new one. I'm a fan ;)
__________________
www.SmokeWagonLeather.us
K. Forman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2005, 10:25 PM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
I just got my ADVC-100 back from repair at Canopus about two weeks ago. They fixed it for free.

I questioned the repair tech and he told me that there is a bit of a design flaw with the six pin firewire input where if you hotplug it, the pins with the power can send voltage to the logic pins and fry the box. The solution is either to use the four pin jack or make sure the ADVC-100 is powered off when plugging in the firewire connector. He also said that later Conopus firewire capture boxes don't have this problem.
Laurence Kingston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2007, 07:16 AM   #18
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 3
ADVC-110 Audio Playback/Preview Question

For those using ADVC-110 to capture analog,
what is your set-up for previewing?
(I'm editing with Adobe Elements)

I'm getting a strange 'feedback' noise (high-pitch) from TV.

My set-up:

1) Playing VHS thru Panasonic AG-1970 VCR (w/TBC)
(S-Vid, Comp.Audio OUT from RR to FRT of ADVC-110)

2) Firewire (6-pin) from RR of ADVC-110 to PC

3) Comp.A/V(out) from RR of ADVC-110(out) to VCR (in)(FRT)
(VCR input A2)

4) Comp.A/V(out) from RR of VCR (out) to TV/Monitor (in)

How do you Capture & Preview what you're capturing as well as what you have in your Project/Timeline?
John Schuh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2007, 01:26 PM   #19
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Nigeria
Posts: 11
Does Advc100/110 Output To Tv Without Rendering?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry Settle View Post
I use my ADVC-100 in both directions. Capture analog to digital, and then back out for recording to vhs, or watching on a monitor.
Hi Harry,

Since u are very used to ADVC100 or 110, does this output analog footage (say, avi format) from PC to TV without first rendering the footage?

Your reply will ease me a great stress.

Thanks - John
John Portharcourt is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Grass Valley / Canopus NLE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network