what would i need to edit 4k footage? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > HD and UHD ( 2K+ ) Digital Cinema

HD and UHD ( 2K+ ) Digital Cinema
Various topics: HD, UHD (2K / 4K) Digital Cinema acquisition to distribution.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 19th, 2010, 08:51 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
what would i need to edit 4k footage?

Hi, I have a new PC Dell xps9000 with Premiere Pro cs4, My system specs are a Intel Core i7 920 with 8 gigs of ram 650GB main drive - 1.5TB hard drive. and a Nvidia Geforce GTS240 the link for that is below

what would i need to edit Red, or other 4k footage? could my current specs handle this? If not what would I need?

also if anyone has any 4k footage shot on red, like a 30 second clip i could just mess with that would rock


GeForce GTS 240 (OEM Product)


Thanks!
Dave Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2010, 11:00 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 126
Sorry, I'm not great with Specs, so I can't tell you what you'd need....

But I believe you can download some Red One footage here : Red One Digital Cinema Camera test footage
Cole Seidl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2010, 12:20 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York NY
Posts: 322
You will need a big, fast drive array. CalDigit, Dulce, GTech and others make excellent 8 drive arrays at pretty reasonable prices.
Arnie Schlissel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2010, 02:19 PM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Morgan View Post
Hi, I have a new PC Dell xps9000 with Premiere Pro cs4, My system specs are a Intel Core i7 920 with 8 gigs of ram 650GB main drive - 1.5TB hard drive. and a Nvidia Geforce GTS240 the link for that is below

what would i need to edit Red, or other 4k footage? could my current specs handle this? If not what would I need?

also if anyone has any 4k footage shot on red, like a 30 second clip i could just mess with that would rock


GeForce GTS 240 (OEM Product)


Thanks!
Feel free to go to our website to get some 4k files to play around with. Try it out and see how your system does with it.
Good Luck,
Corey
CLAi - RED San Francisco
www.video-production-san-francisco.com
Corey Sullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2010, 10:59 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
basically you'd need to convert RED files into proxy files (something that is automatically done for FCP users). It's much easier to edit these and then replace them for final render.
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > HD and UHD ( 2K+ ) Digital Cinema

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network