Next-gen console HDMI video capture with Intensity? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 18th, 2007, 09:07 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Next-gen console HDMI video capture with Intensity?

I'm confused. I'm thinking about is there ICT in games in the PS3? If not ICT then there must be HDCP, And that's not good for Intensity. I am so confused... so to all PS3/360 Elite and Intensity owners... can you capture HD off of the PS3/360 or not? If not, there goes an extra 1500 or more bucks for a component capture device... (which I definitely can't afford.).

And if it works, would you care to post links to self made screenshots? (of the XMB if you don't mind or of the 360's main menu.)

And how do these guys do it? -> http://www.digitalfoundry.org/showca...efinition.html

I'd love an answer to this thread.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.

Last edited by Jack Zhang; August 18th, 2007 at 01:05 PM.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2007, 01:37 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
So? Is it possible to capture from HDMI from those sources or would we have to go to the Intensity Pro to capture analog HD?
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2007, 08:34 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Lots of info for PS3 HD video capture enthusiasts

Allright, since no one knows, I'm posting how the pros do it which I just found out on Doom9 from "easy2Bcheesy":

Quote:
You require a PS3 debugging station from Sony which has the ability to turn off HDCP. HDCP is on all the time. Debugging stations are available to all games developers and other industry partners (I have one myself) but you will need to sign a Sony non-disclosure agreement. Also these devices have all multimedia playback disabled. It's games only.
So now you know how the pros capture...

Now we know it is not (legally) possible for direct HDMI capture on retail next-gen consoles. However, you can still use component with the Intensity Pro up to 1080i and get a M-Audio Optical in card/external box to record AC3 from the optical out through the BeSplit ddwav method.

And the pros have actually gone one step further... With Digital Foundry developing a proprietary 1080p60 in RGB24 HDMI (but still, I'm guessing no HDCP) capture card: http://insidethedigitalfoundry.blogs...s-capture.html
P.S: David Newman, you'd be glad to know they used CineForm at one time on that blog.

There. So if you still want to capture in HD from your PS3/360 Elite, there's all the info you need.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2007, 09:19 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 267
Thanks for posting Jack. I have been wanting to be able to capture Xbox 360 and PS3 output with an Intensity card (haven't bought one just yet) via HDMI but deff looks like thats out of the question now. Though 1080i over component will probably be fine. Just would prefer HDMI.

I new the PS3 had this limitation. WHich would of been fine if it turned off during game play and XMB, but sadly it doesnt! :( However i had forgot to think about the new 360's with HDMI. Does this mean they have the same issues and the intensity wont work for it either Or is it unconfirmed as yet?
__________________
Welcome... to the real world!
Daymon Hoffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2007, 09:25 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
All consumer electronics with HDMI is sure to have HDCP. So 360 is also affected by this. Just get a Intensity Pro instead of a Intensity and you'll be set.

And get the M-audio Optical in stuff if you want to capture AC3 audio via ddwav through BeSplit.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2007, 07:57 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: BRAZIL
Posts: 81
I made quickly testes capturing PS3 trailers and games (720p) outputting by component video to intensity pro and i got great results...
Marcelo Lima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2007, 08:31 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Great to know.

I'd also remind people this method is not cheap (for laptop users anyway).

1 Intensity Pro + 1 Magma ExpressBox1 + 1 M-Audio Transit = $1209.50 + Tax (Prices from B&H)

For PCI-E Desktop users, it's cheaper, Same as above without the ExpressBox.

For Mac Pro users, it's cheapest since you don't need the M-Audio box nor the ExpressBox. But you might need XP on your Mac for BeSplit.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2007, 09:17 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Update:

In a surprising turnaround, the Xbox 360 actually does not have HDCP for games in HDMI...

Confirmed by this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dAcvHI4rSCM

So only the PS3 HDMI can't be captured using Intensity, and even if it could, the format is RGB24 which can't be captured.

If there's another Intensity, support for RGB24 might be needed... If there's a capture unit that could capture RGB24 HDMI that's out there (besides Digital Foundry), post info about it here.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.

Last edited by Jack Zhang; November 9th, 2007 at 05:22 PM.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2007, 10:31 AM   #9
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 1
Capturing 720P from PS3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcelo Lima View Post
I made quickly testes capturing PS3 trailers and games (720p) outputting by component video to intensity pro and i got great results...
Can you tell me which Blackmagic Project settings you used? Did you use it with Adobe Premiere?
Kevin Tostado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 05:03 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
I'd love to know as I've just ordered an Intensity Pro. (No Expressbox Yet)
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2008, 12:26 PM   #11
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Encino, CA
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Zhang View Post
All consumer electronics with HDMI is sure to have HDCP. So 360 is also affected by this. Just get a Intensity Pro instead of a Intensity and you'll be set.

And get the M-audio Optical in stuff if you want to capture AC3 audio via ddwav through BeSplit.
The Xbox 360 doesn't use HDCP when playing games, only DVD/HD-DVDs (afaik). The PS3, otoh, is always HDCP enabled so you'll need a debug/test kit to record game footage.

I picked up an Intensity with the sole purpose of capping 720p60fps footage from either a 360 or PS3 test kit. You say I can grab one of those M-Audio Transit's and use it to also record DD 5.1 AC3? How would I go about doing this in the most efficient manner, assuming whenever I'll be recording it'll be live gameplay being "driven" by someone else? i.e. I'll have about 5 seconds notice to "hit record" while they're playing, and then they'll want to see quick edits 2 minutes later in 720p60fps and 5.1. Is this possible in Premiere?
Drew McCoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2008, 05:12 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Sorry in advance about bumping this thread,

The 5.1 method is not necessary for editing footage for "non-personal" reasons. If you're planning to record unprotected HDMI debug video, 2 channel uncompressed at 48k through HDMI (you only use one cable) would suffice. And the raw 5.1 data coming into the optical in has to be processed first from a wav file to a AC3 file, so it's not suited for on-the-fly editing.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 04:48 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
I just tried capturing 720 and 1080 from component on the PS3 in MJPG and it looks pretty good (aside from frame drops). The image is very sharp coming out of the capture. Also found out my HC7 never outputs HDCP protected video via HDMI in the process, even when playing back a tape.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network