blackmagic DeckLink HD Extreme is it just for uncompressed? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 16th, 2007, 12:48 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
blackmagic DeckLink HD Extreme is it just for uncompressed?

blackmagic DeckLink HD Extreme is it just for uncompressed? or can you edit compressed hd with it?
Dave Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2007, 04:10 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 400
It's an I/O card - used for input/output of video and audio. It does SD and HD very well. I own one - it and the Mac Pro were the best purchases I've made for my setup, period.

It will not speed up your video - get a fast computer (Mac Pro) for that. It will let you watch it on any SD or any HD monitor. Which is very important and it's the best in it's price class I think.

If your needs are less or you don't need HD-SDI and rather, need HDMI input/output, go for the the Blackmagic Intensity Pro. A lot of HV20 users on this site own and swear by that particular card.
__________________
Mac + Canon HV20
Robert Ducon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2007, 09:53 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Ducon View Post
It will not speed up your video - get a fast computer (Mac Pro) for that. It will let you watch it on any SD or any HD monitor. Which is very important and it's the best in it's price class I think.
.
Can't you monitor through your graphics card?
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2007, 10:02 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Luce View Post
Can't you monitor through your graphics card?
Well, depending on the card.... Also keep in mind that a lot of people have 2 or more monitors just for screen real estate, besides a preview monitor. :) Also, certain cards (like my geforce 8800) are problematic for preview....

C
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2007, 06:36 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 400
Sure, you could if you have an S-Video or Component (or Composite) out in addition to the necessary two DVI connectors. I run two LCDs and then another monitor.. for now it's SD, but when I move to an HD monitor, then this card will shine. Also, it's not just regular video it does - it does HD-SDI (professional level) in and out.. wayyy better than firewire or what-not. And true 24-bit audio I/O, etc etc. When you add it up, it's really worth it. I'd like an HDMI I/O on my Decklink HD Extreme, but since then I've bought an HDMI to HD-SDI convertor, so I'm fine.
__________________
Mac + Canon HV20
Robert Ducon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2007, 01:03 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Ducon View Post
Sure, you could if you have an S-Video or Component (or Composite) out in addition to the necessary two DVI connectors. I run two LCDs and then another monitor.. for now it's SD, but when I move to an HD monitor, then this card will shine. Also, it's not just regular video it does - it does HD-SDI (professional level) in and out.. wayyy better than firewire or what-not. And true 24-bit audio I/O, etc etc. When you add it up, it's really worth it. I'd like an HDMI I/O on my Decklink HD Extreme, but since then I've bought an HDMI to HD-SDI convertor, so I'm fine.
I'm confused then why anyone would need one of these cards since you can capture over a cheap firewire card and use your video card for monitors.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2007, 03:09 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
There are many answers to that question:
HD-SDI I/O
10 or 12 bits of color depth
1920x1080
Uncompressed Video
High Quality Audio
Professional Deck connections

Firewire doesn't evven come close. It is DV and HDV only. Both are highly compressed and low quality.
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network