Another laptop for HDV thread at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 18th, 2007, 04:29 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Another laptop for HDV thread

Ok, before you guys start throwing rocks I have used the search engine and I have found several threads about different laptops for editing HD/HDV, but I'm still cannot make up my mind. Some people say you can only do decent work if you spend a fortune...others say you can get something good to work with for like 700$.
Right now I have a desktop that has been able to do the job, but since I might be moving I may just buy a laptop (which can also help me on the field, since I travel a lot). My current desktop setting is an AMD DUAL 64 3800+ with 4 GB ram and 2 350HD at 7200rpm. I capture via firewire and I do my video work with premiere pro 2 (will move to CS3) and after fx. I have cineform's aspect hd installed. If possible I would like to stay under 1000 euros. Is there such a solution? What should I be looking for? Oh, yes, I forgot a small detail. I would like the laptop to have a 17 inch monitor (preferably with a 1920 x 1200 resolution...or at least 1680 x 1050).

Last edited by Rafael Lopes; November 18th, 2007 at 08:20 AM.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007, 08:11 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
I went to Dell's website where you can build your own laptop and I managed to come up with this:
Processor: Intel® Core™ 2 Duo T7700 (2,4 GHz, 800 MHz, caché nivel 2 of 4 MB)
Monitor: UltraSharp™ WUXGA de 17" (1920 x 1200) with TrueLife
Memory: SDRAM DDR2 4096 MB 667 MHz dual layer [2x2048
HD: 2 500 GB SATA (2 X 250 GB at 5.400 rpm)...I really want 7200 instead
Batery: 85 WHr
Firewire: it doesn't say anything about it.
Cost: 1900 euros

This is WAY more than I'd like to pay. I'm sure I'm paying A LOT for the brand name here. There's got to be other options.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007, 12:17 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
I use a very nice XPS Dell 2GB RAM, Centrino Duo, 7200 hard drive. Cost me US$1100 but I'm afraid that model is discontinued. One thing about Dell, if you call them, the operators have full access to all the accessories, so you can customize the different laptop models to your specifications. For some reason, they limit certain choices online, probably to speed up their build time, but calling directly has given me more options to choose from.
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2007, 01:29 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Wisniewski View Post
ne thing about Dell, if you call them, the operators have full access to all the accessories, so you can customize the different laptop models to your specifications. For some reason, they limit certain choices online, probably to speed up their build time, but calling directly has given me more options to choose from.
Yes, I did that but I came up with a 1900€ budget, when I would like to keep my budget bellow 1000€
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2007, 01:00 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
bump.................
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2007, 12:46 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 170
I'm running an HP at 1.8 ghz dual with 2 gigs of ram, as long as you've got Cineform, and you do :) You're golden, once I get into AE and 3Dsmax to create complex VFX it becomes an issue but for editing and simple AE work it works perfectly, on the go it's indespensable. Try getting the new Asus it has HD monitoring possibilites and it's fairly affordable I think u can get one for about 2000$ on amazon.com and Cinevate is using it for monitoring HD and focus assist, so it must be good. but for 1000 euros you shouldn't have a problem finidng a more than decent machine. Good luck.

G2S-Extreme Laptop with a 17" 1920x1200 screen is probably the top dog, but that thins is 3900$ sorry for the mistake

http://www.amazon.com/ASUS-F3Sv-B2-B...497337&sr=1-23

is a possibilty for you as well. I guess it's just a matter of you chosing what's best for you, as far as power and aesthetics. Good luck man, can't wait to see what you produce :) Or try configuring a model with HP seems to be affordable, just configured an AMD 2.3 dual core with 4 gigs of ram an Nvidia VC 128mb and 1 year accidental damage for less than 1000 euros.
Dmitry Yun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2007, 04:17 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Thanks. Next weekend I'll probably visit a couple of stores to get a better look of what is what.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2007, 06:08 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Any more suggestions/alternatives?
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2007, 08:58 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
One last bump....
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 10:23 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
Check out this laptop:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc..._Notebook.html

It has a 21 inch screen!
Laurence Kingston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 12:59 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lakewood NJ
Posts: 6
I would love to get some info on this as well, I have a sony Vaio vgn-A190

http://reviews.cnet.com/laptops/sony...-30898700.html

I went to the Sony store at my nearby mall. There newer version is $3000 and change the only real difference is the 2.4 GHz mine is 1.7 GHz. Same screen same everything, So I started to upgrade it I put in 2 gig of ram I'm upgrading the HD from 60 to 100 that's the only size the had for 7200rpm. I figured I would need at least 60 for my C drive and use exclusively external drives to save data. I'm hoping I can edit HD on this laptop if not it will used as a Internet take every where job and I will have to build a desktop. any thoughts please feel free to give them
thanks
C
Corey Sosner is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:10 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network