RAM Help, Please at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 13th, 2008, 04:40 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 35
RAM Help, Please

So, I've been looking for ways to speed up my pathetic render times, and I've thinking about upgrading my RAM. I have 895mb of RAM on Windows Vista Home Basic(32 bit). I want to move up to 4gb, is this a good idea?

If anyone had any suggestions, I would appreciate them.
Ray Grizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2008, 07:17 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
32 bit vista only sees 3.5gb of ram but you can't put that in so you'll have to put 4gb in to get it.Just as important is your proccessor speed.
What speed is yours ?
I've got a quad core pc (32 bit vista) but only 2gb of ram,i render my EX1 footage,HD down to SD and it only takes 2x.
If you're thinking of buying more ram,better proccessor and board,i wouldn't bother,for the price i'd buy a new pc,they've come down in price enough.
What program are you editing with,some programs require more ram and proccessor than other programs.
Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2008, 07:29 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Allen, Texas U.S.A
Posts: 1,117
Ray,
paul is right, while you need ram at least 2gig. Your processor is your first priority. the fastest dual core should do. a good graphics card with 256mb gpu memory.
Does your motherboard support dual channel ram? whats your current processor?

Ted
Ted Ramasola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2008, 03:29 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 35
Thank you for your help. I can't really afford replacing my computer, and I won't be buying a new mother board or processor.

No, my mother board does not support dual channel RAM.

My processor is:Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00 GHz 2.99 GHz
Ray Grizzle is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:41 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network