MOTU V3HD Discontinued at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 15th, 2008, 04:08 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
MOTU V3HD Discontinued

I was just on B&H's website ordering some stuff and noticed that they have the MOTU V3HD listed as Discontinued. What's up with that?

Anyone have any info on this?
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2008, 04:26 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Look for the V4HD.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2008, 04:40 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Interesting, wonder what the difference is?
No info on B&H's site and no info on the MOTU site either.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2008, 04:42 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Michael,

I saw it in an ad.

I did a double-take since I was expecting the model number to be V3HD, but it was V4HD.

I will double check the ad tonight.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2008, 06:15 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 758
At least when I looked on the MOTU home page, the V3HD was top left of center!

http://www.motu.com/

And when I clicked on the V3HD pic, it took me here.

http://www.v3hd.com/software.html#pr...ro-cs3-support

You might want to look at

http://www.v3hd.com/

as well.

On the other hand I found a vendor selling the V4HD for $2749.00
It's not a sponsor is why I'm not giving a link. But it only took 3 minutes to find.

Last edited by Bill Koehler; May 15th, 2008 at 06:23 PM. Reason: Added third link & found V4HD reference.
Bill Koehler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2008, 07:07 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
There is an ad, "Introducing the V4HD", on the back cover of the May 2008 issue of DV (Digital Video) Magazine.

The ad says that it includes the same features as the V3HD plus much more.

There is a link in the ad:

www.v4hd.com
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2008, 11:10 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
There is a link in the ad:

www.v4hd.com
Whoever is maintaining that website had best get to updating it.
I looked and all info is for the V3HD!
Bill Koehler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2008, 12:59 PM   #8
Sponsor: Electronic Mailbox
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Glen Cove, NY
Posts: 751
V4HD adds support for ProRes. They do some funky lossless compression as an interim step. We got a preview of it at NAB but we were sworn to secrecy.

I'll post more details when we get the go ahead from Motu.

Gary

BTW, we still have a single unit of V3HD in stock $2,595
http://www.videoguys.com/v3hd.html
__________________
Check out http://www.videoguys.com 800 323-2325 We are the video editing and live video production experts! DV InfoNet members save 5%! Use Coupon Code DVINFO5OFF
Gary Bettan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2008, 01:59 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 523
Heck, I wouldn't buy anything from a company called MOTU. If they changed it back to Mark of the Unicorn, that might be something. What the heck was up with that anyway?
__________________
Andy Tejral
Railroad Videographer
Andy Tejral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2008, 02:30 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Bettan View Post
V4HD adds support for ProRes. They do some funky lossless compression as an interim step. We got a preview of it at NAB but we were sworn to secrecy.

I'll post more details when we get the go ahead from Motu.

Gary

BTW, we still have a single unit of V3HD in stock $2,595
http://www.videoguys.com/v3hd.html
I was thinking that it was probably adding PreoRes into the mix. This was the big thing that kept me from buying it or even from buying the AJIOHD (no DVCPROHD). If IO doesn't add DVCPROHD support then I think that this gives the upper hand to the V4HD.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:35 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network