Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 1st, 2008, 02:47 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KLD, South Africa
Posts: 983
NLE Rendering Dropped Frames

I recently switched form SD to HDV, I shot a school show in HDV, captured using Vegas and edited the footage in native (m2t). I did a SD render of the footage which played back perfectly, my HDV render however is filled with dropped frames. How is it possible for my HDV tape footage which is captured drop frame free to produce so many drops in my final render? More importantly how would I solve this? Thx.
Nicholas de Kock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2008, 02:48 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicholas de Kock View Post
I recently switched form SD to HDV, I shot a school show in HDV, captured using Vegas and edited the footage in native (m2t). I did a SD render of the footage which played back perfectly, my HDV render however is filled with dropped frames. How is it possible for my HDV tape footage which is captured drop frame free to produce so many drops in my final render? More importantly how would I solve this? Thx.

I'm going to ask maybe a ridiculous quesition. Are you importing the footage at the same rate and compression at which it was shot? I found that I had the same problem but in my case, it was because I shot it at 24 and was importing it mistakenly at 60.
Carole Holli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2008, 03:11 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KLD, South Africa
Posts: 983
Carole that can't be the problem cause I'm capturing in native (this means exactly the same data on tape is just copied over to my hard-drive) I edit and then export in native again. My NLE is producing dropped frames in that final export.
Nicholas de Kock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2008, 03:26 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,435
What are your PC specs?
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2008, 01:08 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KLD, South Africa
Posts: 983
Intel Core2 Duo 2.5Ghz, 4Gb RAM, 2TB HDD Space with OS on separate drive. Nvidia 8600GT graphics card. Vista 64bit.

I've read somewhere that drives not being fast enough could cause this however I don't see how this could be a problem cause it's not real-time to start with when you render, if drives can't keep up then surly the render would just slow down. I think this more closely resembles a miss calculation of the GOP HDV structure somehow.

I'm going to upgrade my PC to a Intel Quad Q6600 with another 2TB RAID 0+1 in the next few days. Will see if this affects the outcome.
Nicholas de Kock is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 




Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2014 The Digital Video Information Network