What raw format for backup HDV? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 11th, 2008, 02:36 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 49
What raw format for backup HDV?

I have a Sony HDR-HC1E HDV 1080i . Around 50 DV tape i will "export to tape" ta an externial harddrive for backup.
I have uset Adobe Premier with cineform and Edius. But in future can be another program. So what format shall i go for when have this as a backup like my DV tapes?
Is m2t safe? Can i then use cineform to convert from m2t to avi?

What apps shall i use? DVD splitt or Adobe premiere CS3 or?
Arve Hansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2008, 08:26 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
If you want to back up your raw tapes - i.e. the original footage - then capture them via firewire to your hard drive. This will produce lossless, bit-for-bit copies of your tapes in mpeg2 transport stream format (i.e. m2t).

"Export to tape" is usually used in the context of exporting edited footage. If you export edited material to .m2t the edited portions of the tape will get recompressed ... this will not be lossless. In this situation you are better editing and exporting in Cineform avi format.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2008, 04:00 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 49
I want to capture my HDV tape to a harddrive. And have it there for the future. Is m2t the best format to use in future?
Arve Hansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2008, 06:58 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Yes. See the first sentence of my earlier reply.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2008, 03:57 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 49
Can Premiere CS3 do scene split or shall i use HDVSplit 0,77?
I remember i used HDVSplit for capture with scene detect in CS2. But in the last year i have only done Photo. But i think I used scene detect for DV/SD but not working for HDV in CS3?
What capture program is best for capture with scene detect/split?

Last edited by Arve Hansen; October 25th, 2008 at 11:45 AM.
Arve Hansen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:00 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network