Time Remapping in FCP 6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 17th, 2008, 05:31 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Time Remapping in FCP 6

I've searched in the forums for an answer to my problem but didn't find one so I hope you can help me!


I want to slow down a clip that has the following format:


Vid Rate 29.97
Frame size: 720 x 480
Compressor: DV/DVCPRO-NTSC
Field Dominabnce: Lower (even)
Pixel aspect: NTSC CCIR 601

In the FCP motion tab (Time Remap) I enter the following settings:

Speed 50% / Constant Speed / Frame Blending ON

Then I export the clip as a Quick Time, using the DV NTSC 48Khz setting.

The Quick Time movie looks great on the computer but when I burn a DVD and play it on a regular household DVD, the clip looks very jumpy, not smooth, with a strobe effect.

I've tried different settings to export the clip as a Quick Time, but all give the same result.

What could I do? Why can I only see this problem during playback in the DVD and not on the computer?


Thanks!!!!!
Ana Jimenez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2008, 08:12 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Posts: 123
I had a similar problem a while back. I was able to correct it by exporting using compressor. Good Luck!
Mark Keck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2008, 08:40 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
I THINK it has something to do with the fact that DV uses the opposite field order to NTSC CCIR601 SD video. Compressor seems to take care of it.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2008, 04:22 PM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Compressor

Interesting solutions...I fixed the problem by using a De-interlace filter + Motion Blur + NO Frame Blending. It worked fine for what I was doing. Next time I will also try out the solution both of you suggest. Thanks...
Ana Jimenez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2008, 05:39 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Posts: 123
Hmmm... my problem could have be interlacing, I didn't try that. If it was I'm betting compressor fixed it without my knowing it. If I run it again I'll give de-interlacing a try first.
Mark Keck is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:09 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network