What is a Kona card? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 12th, 2008, 11:57 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison
Posts: 330
What is a Kona card?

And why do I need or want one? I've seen a lot of topics about Kona cards, AJA, Blackmagic, etc...

But what are these suckers and what exactly do they do? The reason I ask is because when editing at home or work, I don't have one and don't understand their purpose.

I'm a total noob when it comes to this stuff and even some people at work can't explain it in terms that I understand. My guess is that they don't know either?
Blake Cavett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2008, 05:29 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 522
The Kona, Blackmagic, etc. are dedicate hardware (pci) cards that allow you to input and output real time component, composite, SDI, HD-SDI, S-Video, analog and/or digital audio to and from your editor and to and from broadcast video decks or video sources. Specific functions depend upon the card of course.
__________________
"The good thing about science is that it's true whether you believe it or not." Neil deGrasse Tyson http://nautilusproductions.com
Rick L. Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2008, 09:38 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison
Posts: 330
Thanks Rick! I've been scratching my head for quite a while trying to understand this stuff.

Is this something I need in addition to my firewire cable if that's all I'm using for input and output?
Blake Cavett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 05:43 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 522
If you're just editing DV or HDV via firewire the answer is no. If you need SDI or component inputs/outputs then the answer is yes.
__________________
"The good thing about science is that it's true whether you believe it or not." Neil deGrasse Tyson http://nautilusproductions.com
Rick L. Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2008, 09:57 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison
Posts: 330
Big thanks guys!
Blake Cavett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 12:29 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
Unless of course you want to feed a professional production monitor.
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2009, 07:49 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick L. Allen View Post
If you're just editing DV or HDV via firewire the answer is no. If you need SDI or component inputs/outputs then the answer is yes.
If I'm just editing DV and HDV via firewire, is there a specific firewire card I should look for? I remember some posts about the Canopus ACEDvio card being a good choice, though that was quite awhile ago.
Stephen Sobel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network