Definitive answer on removing pulldown on 24p footage? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 27th, 2008, 02:05 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 442
Definitive answer on removing pulldown on 24p footage?

I've Googled this several times, and every person seems to have a different answer. So I thought I'd ask here as a tie breaker.

Both my cameras (HV20, XH-A1) record 24p on tape by pulling down to 29.97, so unless I capture directly to hard disk I end up with a lot of judder.

What is the definitive way to remove pulldown, particularly in Vegas and Premiere Pro? Are there native solutions, or do I have to resort to third-party apps (such as Avisynth)?


J.

Last edited by Jacques E. Bouchard; December 27th, 2008 at 02:13 AM. Reason: typo
Jacques E. Bouchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2008, 07:06 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
Sorry but I use FCP & cinema tools to do any pull down removal if needed depending on the camera used.
By the way, the XH-A1 records true progressive unless you are recording standard Def.
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2008, 10:23 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
Use Cineform... works perfect
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2008, 01:15 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
I use Cineform NeoHDV. Works with both cameras. I edit mostly Vegas. For Premiere, you get more out of the higher priced packages that would not be usable in Vegas.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2008, 04:27 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by David W. Jones View Post
By the way, the XH-A1 records true progressive unless you are recording standard Def.
David, you are absolutely right. Playback is 60i only when outputting from component. guess I was still scarred from the last time I shot 24p using my HV20. :-)


J.
Jacques E. Bouchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2008, 06:58 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,866
The XH-A1 records progressive images, but adds 60i repeat flags. So depending on whether your NLE reports the flags, or ignores them just depends on it, but the pulldown flags are there.

Most mpeg utilities will report the 24f stream from the XH-A1 as 60i. You can remove the flags using the free utility, DGPulldown . You can remove the flags or add them back in.
Tom Roper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2008, 09:33 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Roper View Post
Most mpeg utilities will report the 24f stream from the XH-A1 as 60i. You can remove the flags using the free utility, DGPulldown . You can remove the flags or add them back in.
I looked at DGPulldown, and it seems to convert from 24p to 29.97. I couldn't find anything about removing pulldown flags.


J.
Jacques E. Bouchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2008, 10:04 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacques E. Bouchard View Post
I looked at DGPulldown, and it seems to convert from 24p to 29.97. I couldn't find anything about removing pulldown flags.


J.
There is a readme file that gives a brief explanation.

Basically, you check the radio button for "Custom", then put 23.976 --> 23.976. (Yes, just enter 23.976 into both boxes)

It will remove the flags.
Tom Roper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2008, 07:53 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Roper View Post
There is a readme file that gives a brief explanation.

Basically, you check the radio button for "Custom", then put 23.976 --> 23.976. (Yes, just enter 23.976 into both boxes)

It will remove the flags.
Thanks Tom.


J.
Jacques E. Bouchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2009, 06:18 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Posts: 213
Hello,

Not to hijack this thread, but I just shot a project using my XHA1@24p... I normally use FCP, but I am using Premiere Pro for this project.

What does the pull-down affect?

Would you suggest I always remove the pulldown on all of my 24p captured footage?

Thanks,
Micky
__________________
Home: See "Work" :)
Work: Canon XH A1, CS3/CS4/CS5/Final Cut Studio/Final Cut Express/Premiere Elements
Micky Hulse is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network