The Best Way To Do This? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 13th, 2009, 08:16 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: san diego, ca
Posts: 150
The Best Way To Do This?

Im needing to preview HDV timelines on a consumer level 42" 1080p LCD. Im a Vegas 8.0 user, so what is the best way to add this monitor as preview device?
__________________
Fred Helm
pinnedtv.com
Fred Helm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2009, 08:41 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Well,

There's only a couple ways to get there.

1. HDMI
2. Component
3. DVI

What inputs does the TV have, and what outputs does your computer have? If your computer does not have outputs that match any of the inputs, you'll need to buy a video card to go in your PC.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2009, 06:10 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
In addition to the connections Perrone sites, many (most?) HDTVs have VGA inputs. I have a 32" TV that I use as a second monitor for my laptop and can also be connected via HDMI to the edit system.

I'm not sure about all of the differences between the way a TV deals with VGA inputs versus the other options. I know that VGA inputs are underscanned, which can have some value in monitoring video, but know if there are other technical parameters that might influence its use for video monitoring.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2009, 07:17 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
I'm not a Vegas user, but with FCP I have a system using an AJA IO, and another using an AJA Kona.
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2009, 08:14 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Namibia
Posts: 82
At the moment I'm using a DAC simmilar to this one:

Datavideo Technologies Co. DAC-6 DV to Y:U:V / S Video / Composite Converter with Built In DV Repeater

Although it only converts to Composite & S-video it is a handy tool. I'm however eyeballing the DAC-15 which converts to component.

for the DAC-15 see this link:

Datavideo Technologies Co. DAC-15 DV (Firewire) to Component Y:U:V Converter, Y/C and Composite s
Björn Rehder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2009, 10:53 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: san diego, ca
Posts: 150
The TV has all the connections. I use a twin 24" set up for editing from a high end consumer level vid card. I want to ba able to watch parts of my timeline as im editing on the 42" in HD. I know there is a "preview on external monitor" festure in Vegas but that takes a 1394 run through set up. I would rather buy a card or something that allows me to use the LCD as preview monitor.
__________________
Fred Helm
pinnedtv.com
Fred Helm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2009, 11:08 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Helm View Post
The TV has all the connections. I use a twin 24" set up for editing from a high end consumer level vid card. I want to ba able to watch parts of my timeline as im editing on the 42" in HD. I know there is a "preview on external monitor" festure in Vegas but that takes a 1394 run through set up. I would rather buy a card or something that allows me to use the LCD as preview monitor.
Blackmagic Decklink HD extreme?

nVidia GeForce GTX285?
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2009, 01:39 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Maidstone, Kent, UK
Posts: 190
Blackmagic Intensity, set as preview device on Vegas should do the trick I believe.

Regards
David Johns is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:54 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network