HD10 Component out. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 13th, 2003, 08:55 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
HD10 Component out.

I just read Steve Mullens HD10 Sept2003 review, and noticed this.
"The JY-HD10 is the first prosumer camcorder to offer analog component output. A bundled YPrPb cable (with three RCA plugs) supplies analog component output for all recording formats. A Playback menu lets you select the type of component output you need."
Is this the same componet out that is standard on $10,000+ cams?
Is there any limits or restrictions to using this componet out?

Ken.
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2003, 10:54 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
There is component out on the JVC Cameras. It is supplied just as Mullen says it is.

Component output is a standard feature of many professional video decks and can be found on many cameras.

This is the first camera at this price level that I know of that does this.

Careful though, this is Analog component and if you want to interface with an HD editing card, they currently all require SDI.

I hope this helps

DBK
__________________
Darren Kelly
Darren Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2003, 11:22 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
Thanks Darren.
So component out will not be limited to SD resolution like the y/c?
So the order would be Component out- SDI - HD card- for proper uncompressed out to disk.
Ken.
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2003, 01:00 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
<<<-- Originally posted by Ken Hodson : Thanks Darren.
So component out will not be limited to SD resolution like the y/c?
So the order would be Component out- SDI - HD card- for proper uncompressed out to disk.
Ken. -->>>

No the component out is HD component, not SD

To edit uncompressed:

Component out of the camera into a HD Component-Component SDI converter into an Uncompressed HD editing card.

The converter is the expensive part of the equation. It will set you back about $2.5K

DBK
__________________
Darren Kelly
Darren Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2003, 05:30 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
Thanks for the help.
Ken
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:36 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network