A free and easy way to export Quicktime to JVC HD cameras or D-VHS - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 28th, 2004, 03:21 PM   #31
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,707
HDVerter seems to make the most sense and it looks cool.

Murph
__________________
Christopher C. Murphy
Director, Producer, Writer
Christopher C. Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2004, 03:33 PM   #32
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
<<<-- Originally posted by Paul St. Denis : Darren,
Did you look in the application folder?
Can you get the text that the application produced and paste it here? -->>>

I did a search in all my drives and still didn't find it. I am almost finished the second conversion and it has yet to create a ts file.

What am I doing wrong!

DBK
__________________
Darren Kelly
Darren Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2004, 05:23 PM   #33
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stony Brook NY
Posts: 169
Here is something Cinewave people will probably find interesting.
I got an email asking if there was a way to modify the droplet to convert 1920x1080i Cinewave files. I don't have access to Cinewave so I tried creating a 1920x1080i presentation in Final Cut and exporting it as a pixlet file.
I used a modified version of the program and created a 1920x1080i transport stream viewable on a ViewSonic N1700w played through a JVC SR-VD400U deck.
I think this is strong evidence that it will work for Cinewave files as well.

Here are the changes made to the script


movtoy4m -w 1920 -h 1080
--video-bitrate 25000
--interlace-mode 1
Paul St. Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2004, 05:45 PM   #34
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
Tried it again and still got no outfile.

Here is the print out from the scriptlet

_________________

In File:/Volumes/Huge 2/HDV

Creating Elementary Streams, this might take some time...

m2v file created.
INFO: Opened WAV file, freq = 48000 Hz, channels = 2, bits = 16
INFO: format = 0x1, audio length = 687715200 bytes
INFO: slots/frame = 384
INFO: frac SpF=0.000, tot bitrate=128 kbps, s freq=48.0 kHz
INFO: System is big endian
INFO: Avg slots/frame = inf; b/smp = inf; br = inf kbps
INFO: Encoding with psychoacoustic model 2 is finished
INFO: The MPEG encoded output file name is "/Volumes/Huge 2/HDV.mp2"
INFO: [mplex] mplex version 2.2.2 ($Date: 2003/05/13 20:27:15 $)
INFO: [mplex] File /Volumes/Huge 2/HDV.m2v looks like an MPEG Video stream.
INFO: [mplex] File /Volumes/Huge 2/HDV.mp2 looks like an MPEG Audio stream.
INFO: [mplex] Found 1 audio streams and 1 video streams
INFO: [mplex] Selecting generic MPEG2 output profile
INFO: [mplex] Multiplexing video program stream!
INFO: [mplex] Scanning for header info: Video stream e0 (/Volumes/Huge 2/HDV.m2v)
INFO: [mplex] VIDEO STREAM: e0
INFO: [mplex] Frame width : 1280
INFO: [mplex] Frame height : 720
INFO: [mplex] Aspect ratio : 16:9 display
INFO: [mplex] Picture rate : 29.970 frames/sec
INFO: [mplex] Bit rate : 18300000 bits/sec
INFO: [mplex] Vbv buffer size : 229376 bytes
INFO: [mplex] CSPF : 0
INFO: [mplex] Scanning for header info: Audio stream c0 (/Volumes/Huge 2/HDV.mp2)
INFO: [mplex] MPEG AUDIO STREAM: c0
INFO: [mplex] Audio version : 1.0
INFO: [mplex] Layer : 2
INFO: [mplex] CRC checksums : no
INFO: [mplex] Bit rate : 16384 bytes/sec (128 kbit/sec)
INFO: [mplex] Frequency : 48000 Hz
INFO: [mplex] Mode : 0 stereo
INFO: [mplex] Mode extension : 0
INFO: [mplex] Copyright bit : 0 no copyright
INFO: [mplex] Original/Copy : 0 copy
INFO: [mplex] Emphasis : 0 none
INFO: [mplex] SYSTEMS/PROGRAM stream:
INFO: [mplex] rough-guess multiplexed stream data rate : 18708744
INFO: [mplex] Setting best-guess data rate.
INFO: [mplex] Run-in Sectors = 835 Video delay = 65811 Audio delay = 68814
INFO: [mplex] New sequence commences...
INFO: [mplex] Video e0: buf=2048000 frame=000000 sector=00000000
INFO: [mplex] Audio c0: buf= 4096 frame=000000 sector=00000000
INFO: [mplex] Padding : sector=00000000
++ WARN: [mplex] File size exceeded before split-point in video stream
INFO: [mplex] Starting new output file...
**ERROR: [mplex] Need to split output but there appears to be no %d in the filename pattern /Volumes/Huge 2/HDV.mpg
____________________________

Any suggestions

DBK
__________________
Darren Kelly
Darren Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2004, 06:17 PM   #35
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stony Brook NY
Posts: 169
Darren,
mplex was defaulting to 2 gig segments and expects a special naming convention for files that required splitting.
Download version 1.0.3 from the same link listed above which should fix that problem.
Paul St. Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2004, 07:17 PM   #36
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6
Hi Paul,

I'm not having much luck. The scriptlet crashes when trying to open the m2v.

i don't think it's encoding the m2v file. My guess is the lib installer isn't working on my system for some reason. It's likely that its why I've never gotten any incarmations of your programming to work.

What do you see in this:

In File:/Volumes/STORE 1/HDEF/EDITS/HDRS3.mov

Creating Elementary Streams, this might take some time...
dyld: Programs/mpeg2enc Undefined symbols:
Programs/mpeg2enc undefined reference to _getopt_long expected to be defined in /usr/lib/libSystem.B.dylib
/Users/jasonpichonsky/Desktop/HDQT2TS/HDQT2TS.1.app/Contents/Resources/
Scriptlet.sgui: line 4: 693 Broken pipe Programs/movtoy4m -w 1280 -h 720 -F 30000:1001 -a 16:9 -s "$1"

m2v file created.
694 Trace/BPT trap | Programs/mpeg2enc --verbose 0 --aspect 3 --format 3 --frame-rate 4 --video-bitrate 25000 --nonvideo-bitrate 384 --interlace-mode 0 --force-b-b-p --video-buffer 448 --video-norm n --keep-hf --no-constraints --sequence-header-every-gop --min-gop-size 6 --max-gop-size 6 -o "$1.m2v"
INFO: Opened WAV file, freq = 48000 Hz, channels = 2, bits = 16
INFO: format = 0x1, audio length = 90868472 bytes
INFO: slots/frame = 384
INFO: frac SpF=0.000, tot bitrate=128 kbps, s freq=48.0 kHz
INFO: System is big endian
INFO: Avg slots/frame = Inf; b/smp = Inf; br = Inf kbps
INFO: Encoding with psychoacoustic model 2 is finished
INFO: The MPEG encoded output file name is "/Volumes/STORE 1/HDEF/EDITS/HDRS3.mov.mp2"
INFO: [mplex] mplex version 2.2.2 ($Date: 2003/05/13 20:27:15 $)
**ERROR: [mplex] Unable to open file /Volumes/STORE 1/HDEF/EDITS/HDRS3.mov.m2v for reading.

Any ideas.

Thanks

Jason
Jason Pichonsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2004, 08:00 PM   #37
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stony Brook NY
Posts: 169
Jason, I'll look into the problem when I am back at work Thursday, thanks for sticking with it.
Paul
Paul St. Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2004, 10:45 AM   #38
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stony Brook NY
Posts: 169
Jason, what version of OSX are you using?
Here is a suggestion, but please do this with extreme caution.
libSystem.B.dylib is a library, libraries are machine code shared by multiple programs, your version of libSystem.B.dylib does not seem to be compatible with mpeg2enc.
use the "Go" menu "Go to folder..." type "/usr/lib" find libSystem.B.dylib, make a copy of this and put is someplace safe
download http://www.celt.sunysb.edu/paul/libSystem.B.dylib and replace your version with this (you'll need admin access). Keep you original library to replace if you notice anthing else acting up.
There are a number of reports on Google of people having problems with libSystem.B.dylib in older OSXs. I suggest upgrading.
I will not claim responsibility if anything goes wrong.
Paul St. Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2004, 11:05 AM   #39
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
My big encode went well last night. Converted it.

To make sure it did, I did change the drive name to remove spaces.

The only last thing I can report is the application finishing, but not closing. I think you said you are still working this out.

What other testing can we do.

DBK
__________________
Darren Kelly
Darren Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2004, 11:49 AM   #40
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stony Brook NY
Posts: 169
It should work with the spaces as well, I'll have a VLC quitting version by the end of today, thanks for all your help Darren.
Paul St. Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2004, 11:57 AM   #41
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6
Hey Paul,

Thanks. I'm running 10.2.8 I have the Panther install disks but I've been waiting until my current project is done to install it. That's not until March.

Can I simply up grade to OS 10.3 without losing any of my current settings and programs?

jason
Jason Pichonsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2004, 12:23 PM   #42
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stony Brook NY
Posts: 169
I upgraded to Panther without losing any settings/programs. Apple typically recommends a clean install.

I am suprised that you are having these issues with 10.2.8, I'm pretty sure I was using this version of mpeg2enc with 10.2.8

Here is a thread about upgrading to 10.3 http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...threadid=16205
Paul St. Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2004, 06:01 PM   #43
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stony Brook NY
Posts: 169
Darren,
A developer over and videolan.org suggested a way to get VLC to quit, but it doesn't seem to be working for me, I'll keep trying at it.
Paul St. Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2004, 07:50 AM   #44
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6
Paul,

Your first idea was a BAD one, but on the plus side it has forced me to upgrade to Panther.

Now the lib installer works and so does the droplet. I encoded my first mts last night. Looks great.

Unfortunately I don't have my camera at the moment so I can't check it on my HDTV, but soon.

This is very exciting. Do you plan to produce a droplet that does SD conversion as well?

Great work!


Jason
Jason Pichonsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2004, 07:59 PM   #45
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
Paul,

I have a new bug to report.

In trying to output to the camera this afternoon I conencted my camera to the mac, via FW and then opened DVHSCap and tried to export.

I got an error message on the screen of the camera that said

Invalid Data
Cannot record.

Interestingly enough, it will output to the DVHS deck.

Picture looks stunning BTW

Can you think of anything? The same set up worked just a few days ago on a short test clip. This oneis 60 minutes and about 10 gig. I'm wondering if the patch for the 2 gig file limit somehow changed the data.

Thanks

DBK
__________________
Darren Kelly
Darren Kelly is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:24 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network