A free and easy way to export Quicktime to JVC HD cameras or D-VHS - Page 4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 31st, 2004, 01:39 PM   #46
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stony Brook NY
Posts: 169
Darren,
I did change the data rate to 25 Mbps in the last version. I hope that is the cause of your latest problem. I'll release a version that is back to 19Mbps on Monday.
It seems like I should have multiple droplets, one for export to the camera, one with a higher Mbps for D-VHS, one for 1080i, one for SD anomorphic.
Paul
Paul St. Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2004, 06:23 PM   #47
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
So perhaps the 25mbps was the problem.

Irronically, Outputting this to the DVHS deck, which I bought off ecost as a refurb, proved to have a damaged capstan as it does record, but when it plays back I get a pulse of noise.

Atleast now I know I have to fix that now.

I'll look forward to testing your 19mbps release later today. Please let us know when it is up.

Keep up the good work.

DBK
__________________
Darren Kelly
Darren Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2004, 07:49 PM   #48
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stony Brook NY
Posts: 169
<<<-- Originally posted by Darren Kelly :
Keep up the good work.
DBK -->>>
Thanks boss :)
The new version is up, there are two droplets now, you should try the 19Mbs one. I'm going with HDVerter next version so the URL will change.
Jason how would you use SD? You want I should make a droplet that would produce SD transport streams?
I was thinking that it might be possible to use mpeg2enc to produce anamorphic 640x480p MPEG2 program streams for DVD from 1280x720p material
Paul St. Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2004, 08:23 PM   #49
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6
Hi Paul.

I'm not in a rush for the SD converter. The format works for shutterglass stereoscopic video on progressive scan TV's and displays (very similar idea to Imax 3d). There's been interlace techology around since the 80's but it falls apart with the new HDTV's. I've been experimenting with it a bit.

Now that I've got your lib installer to work, I likely can get ffmpegX to encode the 60p. I've already done so with the HD mode. I think HDV's SD is 720x480.

Also the SD mode is there and it needs support too. :)

Thanks again Paul.
Jason Pichonsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2004, 08:38 PM   #50
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stony Brook NY
Posts: 169
Of course, I NTSC DV is 720x480, a typo. Your project sounds interesting Jason, please let me know if I can help.
Paul St. Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2004, 01:12 PM   #51
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
OK,

1. Tried the new 19mbps stream. It output the file as usual.

2. Tried to use DVHS to output to the camcorder. After 15 seconds, it stops the camcorder and reports bad data again. Continues to play on the computer and inthe viewfinder. Even an attempt at manually recording (pressing the start button on the camera) only yields 15 seconds. Makes no difference what 15 seconds I use.

Any ideas Paul?

DBK
__________________
Darren Kelly
Darren Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2004, 02:56 PM   #52
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stony Brook NY
Posts: 169
Sorry Darren, I am not quite sure what is going on, do you still have .ts files that you exported originally?Please try these again and see if thise work, I will look over the script to see if anything else has changed.
Paul St. Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2004, 07:21 PM   #53
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cambria CA
Posts: 45
Problem with 19mbps stream back to camcorder

Hi Paul,

I am having problems, similar to Darren's, when I use DVHSCap to write output from your 'HDQT2TS 19Mbps' program to my GR-HD1. I also get the error message:

'INVALID DATA!
CAN NOT RECORD'

on the HD1's LCD display.

When I use DVHSCap to write a previously captured .m2t file, my HD1 records normally and produces the following log:

Filename: /Volumes/HDVfootage3/HDV7/D-VHS/HDV7A.m2t

External D-VHS Device Found: GR-HD1

===========================
PID 0 = PAT
Table ID: 0
Version Num: 0
Section: 0
Last Section: 0
Section Length: 17
Num Programs: 2
Program: 0x0000 Program_Map_PID: 0x001F
Program: 0x0001 Program_Map_PID: 0x006E

===========================
PID 0x006E = PMT
Table ID: 2
Version Num: 0
Program Num: 1
Section: 0
Last Section: 0
Section Length: 57
PCR PID: 0x0FFF
Stream Type: 0x0002 PID: 0x1000
Video Stream PID: 0x1000
Stream Type: 0x0003 PID: 0x1002
Audio Stream PID: 0x1002

-----

When I use DVHSCap to write an output file from your 'HDQT2TS 19Mbps' program to my GR-HD1; I get the 'error message', the HD1 does not record, and DVHSCap produces the following log:

Filename: /Volumes/Applications/HDQT2TS-2/FCP-HD1/KR19.m2t

External D-VHS Device Found: GR-HD1

===========================
PID 0 = PAT
Table ID: 0
Version Num: 1
Section: 0
Last Section: 0
Section Length: 13
Num Programs: 1
Program: 0x0001 Program_Map_PID: 0x0042

===========================
PID 0x0042 = PMT
Table ID: 2
Version Num: 1
Program Num: 1
Section: 0
Last Section: 0
Section Length: 23
PCR PID: 0x0044
Stream Type: 0x0002 PID: 0x0044
Video Stream PID: 0x0044
Stream Type: 0x0003 PID: 0x0045
Audio Stream PID: 0x0045

-----

The DVHSCap's log is the same whether the file type is either .m2t of .ts.

The only thing that caught my eye was that the 'problem' log shows DVHSCap seeing only one program stream, rather than both a video and audio program stream.

Thanks for the excellent software! Many of us are benefiting from your work.

Thanks,
__________________
Maury
Maury McEvoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2004, 11:31 PM   #54
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stony Brook NY
Posts: 169
Thanks Maury, it is very nice to here that people are using the software, the new semester began here at SUNY Stony Brook last week, so I have been getting swamped with projects. Your log was a great indicator of what is going wrong and I will look into it Wednesday.
Paul St. Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2004, 05:00 PM   #55
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stony Brook NY
Posts: 169
All I can say is this one works for me on the JY-HD10u.
I have been doing my testing on the deck recently, my guess is that the D-VHS deck is able to handle a broader range of bitrates.
I adjusted the script so the video-bitrate 18300, down from 19000. This conforms to the specs of the camera.
I hope this fixes your problems Darren, Maury.
Please let me know.
http://www.celt.sunysb.edu/paul/HDVerter.tar.gz
Paul St. Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2004, 07:01 AM   #56
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cambria CA
Posts: 45
<<<-- Originally posted by Paul St. Denis:

I adjusted the script so the video-bitrate 18300, down from 19000. This conforms to the specs of the camera.
I hope this fixes your problems Darren, Maury.
Please let me know.
http://www.celt.sunysb.edu/paul/HDVerter.tar.gz -->>>

Paul,

I can now use your 'HDVerter 19Mbs' S/W to convert FCP derived QT.mov files to an MPEG transport stream and then write them to my HD1 using DVHSCap.

My previous problem, that resulted in the error message:

'INVALID DATA!
CAN NOT RECORD'

on my HD1's LCD display' was apparently caused by exporting from FCP using the DC30+ codec.

I tried re-exporting from FCP:

File > Export > Using QuickTime Conversions... > Options... > Video > Settings... Apple Pixlet Video, Best Quality

and that resulting QT.mov file worked normally.

I am all set.

Thanks for your help!
__________________
Maury
Maury McEvoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2004, 11:08 AM   #57
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stony Brook NY
Posts: 169
Glad to hear you got it working Maury. So you think it had less to do with the updated version and more to do with DC30+? Have you tried the latest with DC30+? I will download the codec and give it a try.
Paul
Paul St. Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2004, 11:22 AM   #58
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
I was doing some work on a new version of the DVD and the new Cineform package is very specific about the output being 18.3, so I suspect this will work when I try it later today.

I'll report back in the morning.

DBK
__________________
Darren Kelly
Darren Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2004, 02:32 PM   #59
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cambria CA
Posts: 45
<<<-- Originally posted by Paul St. Denis : Glad to hear you got it working Maury. So you think it had less to do with the updated version and more to do with DC30+? -->>>

Yes. I will try my Pixlet version on your previos 19Mbps version later today.

<<<--Have you tried the latest with DC30+? -->>>

Yes. It failed just like the previous version.
__________________
Maury
Maury McEvoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2004, 03:29 PM   #60
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cambria CA
Posts: 45
<<<-- Originally posted by Maury McEvoy : I will try my Pixlet version on your previos 19Mbps version later today.
-->>>

Paul,

I took my 'Pixlet, Best Quality codec' version of my FCP exported QT.mov test file and dropped it on your previous 'HDQT2TS 19MBS' droplet.

DVHSCap also failed to write that result to my HD1; with the same error message:

'INVALID DATA!
CAN NOT RECORD'.

My limited testing indicates that:

1) Your latest 'HDVerter 19Mbs (18.3)' works with my 'Pixlet, Best Quality' QT.mov, but not my 'DC30+' version.

2) Your previous ''HDQT2TS 19MBS' droplet did not work with either my 'Pixlet' or 'DC30+' QT movies.

Good luck,
__________________
Maury
Maury McEvoy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network