Ulead plug-in is out at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 9th, 2004, 07:22 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 393
Ulead plug-in is out

Hey guys, the Ulead plug-in for the hd10u is out. It is used with MediaStudio Pro 7 and costs $299.
Dwight Flynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2004, 11:00 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
I can tell you we worked with an early Beta for the DVD and it works very well.

If you buy the DVD, BTW, you will save $60 (The cost of the DVD) on the plug in.

Sort of a 2 for 1 deal!

DBK
__________________
Darren Kelly
Darren Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2004, 07:09 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 393
temp measure

My only worry is that the next generation of off the shelf programs will have this capability built in. Frankly that does not seem to be too far away. I guess it just comes down to whether you need an immediate alternative to what is already out there. I haven't tried this plug-in yet, but i am interested in seeing it in action. Has anyone tried it yet?
Dwight Flynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2004, 10:55 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 59
<<<-- Originally posted by Darren Kelly : I can tell you we worked with an early Beta for the DVD and it works very well.

If you buy the DVD, BTW, you will save $60 (The cost of the DVD) on the plug in.

Sort of a 2 for 1 deal!

DBK -->>>

Darren,

The Ulead HDV Plug-in 20% discount coupon that came with my copy of the Jumpstart DVD states that the offer expired February 28, 2004 which of course was before the plug-in's early March release. Has this offer been renewed/extended? If so, do I need a new coupon to take advantage of it?

Bob England
Bob England is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2004, 12:24 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
Can anyone suppy any specifics on this codec?
Is it only for P4? Does it only work with Media Studio?
Is it keeping it in mpeg2ts or converting to their own codec ala Aspect HD?
Ken
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2004, 02:50 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
It's not a codec. It works with the native file your camera outputs.

It works very well, has some realtime and more.

DBK
__________________
Darren Kelly
Darren Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2004, 08:20 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 70
Is this software able to import atsc hd contents from d-vhs and edit and then export the ts to d-vhs?
Peter Robert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2004, 11:31 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
"It's not a codec. It works with the native file your camera outputs."

So wouldn't that be the mpeg2ts codec? Or is mpeg2 not a codec (sorry if thats dumb, always considered it one)
Ken
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2004, 02:05 PM   #9
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 54
I'm having problems with the plug-in - although I admit my computer system does not meet the minimum requirements described in the PDF manual:

WINDOWS XP
Pentium 4 3.0ghz
512mb of ram

I'm finding I can capture using an AMD 1.67ghz system.

However, the video playback stutters.

So be sure that you have a 3.0ghz Pentium 4.

In addition, the plug-in won't work on Windows 2000 computers.

I know.

I tried that as well.

Jerry Jones
http://www.jonesgroup.net
Jerry Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2004, 04:37 PM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Unfortnately native MPEG2 editing is rather CPU intensive, so there is probably nothing wrong with the Ulead plug-in. A single MPEG decode at 1280x720p30 (under media player) requires around a 2.0GHz P4. I believe Ulead uses a RGBA video pipeline which requires every HD frame go through a YUV to RGBA conversion before it is displayed. This would set the minimum system levels quite high, maybe around 2.5Ghz. It is always good to have some headroom on your minimum specs for other editing tasks (like audio mixing.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2004, 05:22 PM   #11
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 54
Thanks for the additional information.

I plan to upgrade to a faster system in due time.

I agree with your advice.

I'm actually going to wait until processors hit the 4ghz mark so I'll get that extra headroom that you mentioned.

Then I'll upgrade.

In the meantime, I thought I would post to let folks know that sub-3ghz computer systems probably won't cut the mustard - if my experience is any indication.

I'll be doing some more tests with the SD mode.

I haven't tested that yet and I suppose it's possible that even my sub-spec computer might work with that.

If not, there's always plain vanilla DV mode!

Jerry Jones
http://www.jonesgroup.net
Jerry Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2004, 02:02 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Martinez, CA
Posts: 7
The HD playback works fine on my 2.4 GHz P4. However the Capture has problems with when time code changes in some clips. It stops capturing. Did you notice this David? Ulead has acknowledged the bug and is still working on it. The JVC (Pixela) utility starts a new clip when a timecode change occurs. I suspect the Ulead capture is supposed to capture to one file until you quit. Otherwise the machine has no problem capturing.

Brian Conrad
Brian Conrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2004, 04:46 PM   #13
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 54
Brian, the problem you describe doesn't happen here and I'm using an Athlon 1.67ghz machine!

However, I received an e-mail from an acquaintance at Ulead that the scene change/capture stop problem has been fixed.

There should already be a newer version of the plug-in available to correct that issue.

Perhaps I got the newer version.

Jerry Jones
http://www.jonesgroup.net

<<<-- Originally posted by Brian Conrad : The HD playback works fine on my 2.4 GHz P4. However the Capture has problems with when time code changes in some clips. It stops capturing. Did you notice this David? Ulead has acknowledged the bug and is still working on it. The JVC (Pixela) utility starts a new clip when a timecode change occurs. I suspect the Ulead capture is supposed to capture to one file until you quit. Otherwise the machine has no problem capturing.

Brian Conrad -->>>
Jerry Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2004, 01:39 PM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Martinez, CA
Posts: 7
They sent me a "fix" two weeks ago but it didn't fix the problem. My "acquaintance" is the MSP project manager. I inquired again on the status the other day but haven't yet heard back.

- Brian
Brian Conrad is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:05 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network