Windows 7 Rocks! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 6th, 2009, 02:16 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KLD, South Africa
Posts: 983
Windows 7 Rocks!

Installed Windows 7 RC 64bit this morning, running like a dream! I think MS really got it right this time. All my software still works, the OS is extremely stable and fast, there are quite a few new improvements to file management and networking which makes life so easy, new look, sounds. If you have any doubts about installing Windows 7, just do it and throw Vista away, or burn it!

Best part, thumbnail icon support for video codec's we work in! :)
Nicholas de Kock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2009, 09:11 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KLD, South Africa
Posts: 983
After running for a few days best OS I've worked on from MS, Mac has some real competition now IMO.
Nicholas de Kock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2009, 11:56 AM   #3
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
Just installed Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit. After 1 day of use, it seems rock stable.......using Avid media Composer v3.5. Needed to d/l the just released nVidia FX1700 driver for 64 bit win7, but, otherwise everything seems really nice...and much faster.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2009, 03:11 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicholas de Kock View Post
After running for a few days best OS I've worked on from MS, Mac has some real competition now IMO.
Yep, once you exclude viruses, hardware incompatibilities, drivers that don't work, the lack of backwards compatibility in the OS, etc. Mac might have competition. Write back in a week when your computer is locked up and tell us how it's going.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicholas de Kock View Post
thumbnail icon support for video codec's we work in! :)
Wow! Mac's have had that for how long...?
__________________
"The good thing about science is that it's true whether you believe it or not." Neil deGrasse Tyson http://nautilusproductions.com
Rick L. Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2009, 03:46 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KLD, South Africa
Posts: 983
Rick I respect both MS & Mac, the OS is merely a tool used by us to produce, I work on both. Both Mac's & PC's have limitations lets not compare either. Windows core is open to developers, Mac's not, you get stability in the Mac because everything is very controlled, Windows is open to any one which offers a wider scope however also opens up the playground to virus developers. Bottom line this thread is here to point out the stability of Windows 7, Vista was a blunder, I'm glad MS got it right with W7. XP had thumbnail support however Vista somehow managed to screw this up, merely one of the many things.
Nicholas de Kock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2009, 04:00 PM   #6
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
OK, you guys...DVINFO doesn't permit platform war (arguments)...so it's time to let it go. If an OS works for you, it's good. If you need to defend your choice, that's not so good. They all have their merits and their weaknesses.

The subject of this thread is Windows 7 64 bit. Please keep it on topic.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2009, 04:46 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Thanks, Bill. You got to it before I did.

Any and all: Threads like this do usually, unfortunately, end up as platform wars that we have to then deal with. Save the platform jokes for other sites, even if you think it is harmless...it's not because people WILL launch over the jokes. Save the Mac Fanboy comments for other sites...we mods really don't want to crush your posts and possibly your account like grapes but we will do so as necessary.

We DON'T CARE what you think of your Mac in this thread because it isn't ABOUT your Mac. Please keep the discussion on factual user experience of the Win7 RC. If you have factual info about something Mac to share, go to those fora. If there is a worthwhile feature comparison between Mac's OS'es and Win7, ok, fair enough; just do so in a reasonably objective way.

Like many people, no doubt, I'm really looking forward to giving Win7 a try soon so would like high signal, low noise. Thank you for behaving.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2009, 07:46 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicholas de Kock View Post
Installed Windows 7 RC 64bit this morning, running like a dream! I think MS really got it right this time. All my software still works, the OS is extremely stable and fast, there are quite a few new improvements to file management and networking which makes life so easy, new look, sounds. If you have any doubts about installing Windows 7, just do it and throw Vista away, or burn it!

Best part, thumbnail icon support for video codec's we work in! :)
Nicholas,
Did you install on top of a previous OS (Vista, XP), or was this a fresh install? I want to just upgrade Vista 64 to Windows 7 in place, without having to wipe/reinstall all my apps. The Windows 7 docs say I can do that, but I'm interested if you did it that way yourself.

Thanks,
Matt
Matt Vanecek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2009, 10:38 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KLD, South Africa
Posts: 983
Matt I did a clean install, I usually don't like upgrades as there is always problems involved when done this way, if you do an upgrade I'd be interested to know how it works for you.
Nicholas de Kock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2009, 10:55 AM   #10
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
I might be wrong, but, I don't think Win7 allows an upgrade. You must install a fresh installation.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2009, 11:37 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 566
Hi Nicholas,

Good to hear that Win 7 is running good for you. What NLE are you running with it? What about your third party plug ins? Encoding, transcoding, exporting--any problems? Are they all stable?

(Gotta learn about Win 7, and maybe sell my still un-used, un-opened Business Vista64 :)


Best,
__________________
--JA
Jeff Anselmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2009, 04:55 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KLD, South Africa
Posts: 983
Jeff I'm editing in Sony Vegas Pro 8c and CS4, so far (full week up time without restart) plugin's all working I still have to experience a program crash. It's apparent from installation that this system "feels" stable. I would sell that Vista copy, Microsoft is going to bury and distance themselves from Vista once W7 goes retail. Only problem I've had so far with W7 is on my 4 year old notebook, the keyboard won't work with W7.
Nicholas de Kock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2009, 08:55 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Ravens View Post
I might be wrong, but, I don't think Win7 allows an upgrade. You must install a fresh installation.
The documentation says upgrades are the normal path, unless you have the Win7 beta installed. If you have Win7 beta, then you have to do a clean install.

I may just take a ghost image and try it out, next weekend.

Thanks,
Matt
Matt Vanecek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2009, 12:12 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 566
Hi Nicholas,

Thanks for the info. I'm currently running WinXPPro, with Adobe CS2, on a recently built i7, 6Gig Ram, system! (I had initial problems after installing CS2 and the plug ins into the system, but have everything working okay at the moment--crossing fingers!)

I was going to upgrade to CS4, but needed Cineform to update to CS4, so my Vista 64bit is still unopened. So I think I'm going to wait a bit until Cineform sorts itself out with CS4, then decide whether or not to install Vista. (And I've read from some other posters that CS4 is working well with their Vista64bit systems.)

I don't think I'll install Win7 RC yet, as we have too many projects to work on at the moment, but it's good to know that Win 7 will work with CS4!

Best,
__________________
--JA
Jeff Anselmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2009, 08:29 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 398
Only problem I had with Windows7 was Firefox crashing/locking up... and it was missing my printer drivers, Brother wouldn't help me cause it wasn't actually released yet, so I said give me the Vista drivers but they wouldn't do that. So I just loaded up my Vista64 install off WHS (Windows Home Server) from a backup 2 days before I formatted and installed Windows7... took ~45 minutes to restore 200GB of data over gigabit.

But I think someone else pointed out to me if you use the Windows Update button when you're picking drivers... Microsoft will download more drivers for you, but doesn't do it with a default installation (Saves space for thousands of printer drivers you don't need).

I think you should consider Vista64 Jeff... if you're using XP Pro 32bit with 6GB of ram and an I7 you're really holding back performance.. A.) it's not even using much more than 3GB of ram... and B.) it's just a lot slower... Vista 64 is 100x more stable than XP 64 honestly... I'm running 8GB of ram and I let Vegas 8.1 (64bit) use up 5-6GB of it, with Mutli-core rendering enabled I get full 720p playback at 29.97 on Good (Full) with HDV .m2t files... and effects on top of that (Multi-core rendering off, I get 8-12fps on the same clips)...

I wouldn't recommend doing it in the middle of projects or on a main machine, but definitely try it out and "migrate" to it... cause Vista64 is the best Windows OS out... as long as you have a decent system. (Mine is not even worth $1,000 anymore but it's still faster than any home computer you'd buy in that price-range from Dell or HP).

I think I'll move to Windows7 once it's released, which actually looks to be next fall so it won't be too long :)

Last edited by Pete Bauer; May 12th, 2009 at 10:27 AM. Reason: Remove extraneous Mac and Vista comments
Joe Busch is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network