Workable PC config to edit hd video at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 27th, 2004, 11:26 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 70
Workable PC config to edit hd video

Just add one serial ATA harddisk (160GB, 7200rpm) in my PC.

But in jvc editing software, the play back is not smooth when the video clip is stored in this serial ATA harddisk. Do you have any suggestion to solve this problem.

Thanks.
Peter Robert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2004, 11:55 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
The HDV MPEG2TS is a very low data rate at under 3MBytes per second. A modern 7200rpm drive can sustain over 35MBytes/s. The poor playback you are seeing is due to decoding HD MPEG2 -- that takes a lot of computing power. For smooth playback you are going to need more computing power or a different workflow. What type a system are you currently using?
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2004, 01:25 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 70
P4 2.8G CPU, 1GB Ram
Peter Robert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2004, 09:47 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
<<<-- Originally posted by Peter Robert : P4 2.8G CPU, 1GB Ram -->>>

That should be fine. My P-4 2.6Ghz with 512mb and 3x 5200rpm drives has no problems with the HD10 files.

What program are you using to view the footage? I've been using Intervideo WinDVD 5 with as many codecs for HD stuff as I can find for it. Cyberlink PowerDVD has been useless for me with any HD stuff.....If you're using Windows media player, I'd suggest getting MP9 and the latest WMV HD codec stuff from Microsoft. I've found playback in WMP stutters for me sometimes, so I tend to steer clear of playing back in WMP unless I've encoded HD avi's which work fine....
Steve Crisdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2004, 11:24 AM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Yes Steve is correct, your 2.8 should be plenty fast enough. Clearly I'm not a fan of the bundled JVC software as I'm engineer on a competing solution (you may want to try out our free download at cineform.com.)

Marketing mode off.

There may something wrong on you PC's setup as it should be working fine. At the office we use Sandra system benchmarking software (http://www.sisoftware.co.uk/) to determine if drives and memory are running at the correct speed. It is a technical tool but you may find it helpful to locate any issues.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network