Live HD monitoring from HD-1OU with VLC and laptop at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 4th, 2004, 02:06 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 386
Live HD monitoring from HD-1OU with VLC and laptop

Hi folks,
I know someone (I think it was Paul St.Denis) posted on here that you could use VLC to monitor HD live from the camera via firewire on a Mac laptop. Could someone post exactly how you do this please?, as I can't seem to find the details either on this forum or in the VLC help. I think an "open capture device" option had been mentioned, but I can't seem to find that in VLC either.

Many thanks
__________________
Paul
Paul Mogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2004, 11:08 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 59
It was only with the Windows version of VLC. VLC's Open Capture Device command is not in the Mac version.
Bob England is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2004, 12:06 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 386
Thanks for posting Bob, can't believe I'd have to get a Windows PC to do this, last thing I'd ever want!

Paul
__________________
Paul
Paul Mogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2004, 08:46 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
<<<-- Originally posted by Paul Mogg : Thanks for posting Bob, can't believe I'd have to get a Windows PC to do this, last thing I'd ever want!

Paul -->>>

I'm using a Toshiba P-20 17" WS laptop to monitor HD signal with VLC from my HD10 via firewire. Works great.....

I'm sure a Mac OS version supporting video capture will be available at some point......in the future......hopefully not too distant........

So, if you're desperate to monitor your HD10 live you would have to cross to the dark side.
Steve Crisdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2005, 12:39 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 48
This is a little off the monitoring topic, but I'm happy to say that streaming live 720P video from the HD10 via firewire to a laptop with VLC works pretty darn well. I'm using VLC's MPEG TS encapsulation method to go direct to disk with the video. Best thing is no conversion from tape! You're already saving to a transport stream. This saves quite a bit of time.

My portable's not that powerful either. Dell Latitude 600, PIII M running at 1200Mhz with a firewire PCMCIA card. Gotta have lotsa disk though..40GB free for a couple hours of video.
Scott Frase is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network