What kind of system to edit HD? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 25th, 2004, 06:49 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 163
What kind of system to edit HD?

Hey guys,

I am putting a system needed to edit HD.

What kind of system is good enough? And the standard capacity of hard drive?

I'm referring to editing HD, not HDV.
Any help will be appreciated. thanks.

Do let me know the estimated cost as well too if anyone has info. Many thanks.
Michael Chen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2004, 08:16 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
For editing HD, you will need and HD monitor, and an HD deck. Avid Xpress Pro both edit HD. Go to www.avid.com to review the specs. This summer, Avid will also incorporate HDV, allowing you to edit HD, HDV, SD, DV50 and DV in the same timeline.

Pretty sure FCP can also edit HD.
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2004, 10:00 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,940
The Canopus HD system, available now will edit in realtime, HD, HDV, SD all on the timeline. Go to www.Canopus.com.

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2004, 11:22 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 163
Thanks for the prompt reply.
Got a couple of questions,

1) Is adobe coming out with a new HD editing software?
2) What kind of hard disk space are we looking at?
3) Does the HD deck connects straight to the firewire card or do I need something else?

Thanks for the info.
Michael Chen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2004, 11:39 AM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Pluging our stuff.

Prospect HD http://www.cineform.com/products/ProspectHD.htm is CineForm's high-end real-time HD solution for broadcast or film applications. This software with AJA HDSDI hardware is available in turnkey configurations from BOXX and (just signed) ProMAX, ranging in price from 15k to 20k for a complete NLE solution.

pluging off.

If you looking for a DIY HD NLE, that is tricky, particularly if you want any real-time in 10bit. Apple Dual D5 FCP is probably the base system for non-RT HD, by adding one a range of HDSDI cards and a lot of disk space. Note: I'm not talking about the DVCPRO-HD editing, which is 8bit only, and lower than standard resolutions. But as you haven't given details that solution may work for you. There are low-end non-RT HDSDI solutions for the PC as well, I haven't tried any of those.

We at CineForm hope to get into the DIY HD market with separate sales of a lite version Prospect HD for the PC. That will likely happen in Q1, 2005.

HD (not HDV) has a lot of options that range well over $100k.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2004, 09:59 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 163
15k is out of my budget.

I'm looking at 3-5k, using a pc to work with HD, if its possible.

Looking at avid HD.. hope that it fits into my budget
Michael Chen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2004, 10:36 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
Michael,

How are you acquiring your HD footage?
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2004, 08:50 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 163
Using a HD deck through HDSDI card that were mentioned by David I guess.

so is it possible to edit HD within my budget using pc?
Michael Chen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2004, 10:03 AM   #9
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It would be very hard for that on that budget. A decent HDSDI card with the features you will need starts around $2k. The PC you will need to run that card will be between $2-$3k, and that is without drives or your NLE software. Drives will be expensive as you will need to sustain 150MBytes/s for uncompressed HD, i.e. lots of drives and PCI-X RAID controllers $1-$2k. A low end system could be built (from scratch) from between $7-$8k.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2004, 07:36 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
For 3-5K I can let you see my HD editing system.

A basic kit is going to cost much more than that, but If I had no money, I would try this:

On PC:

Decklink HD card: $600.00
4 drive SATA RAID(200GB X 4): $750.00
Premiere PRO 1.5: $600.00
HD Monitor/LCD: $700.00
SDI HD-AD-Component:: $2,500.00

There's your 5K - I'm hoping you own a PC.

The Canopus system I just built cost me $8K, and it won't handle SDI in.

The Kona HD system I built last year was near $15K and that was a miracle in pricing - it has 2.2TB of storage.

Doing it with DVCPROHD and Final Cut, you might be under the $5K, but that wouldn't allow HD-SDI in, and you can't monitor it out in RT, which means no color correction, and other problems.

If you are seriously considering editing HD, you will need an HD monitor. , That's not the HDTV from Best Buy, but a real monitor. The minimum I could find was B stock at Ikegami, and that cost me $2.2K on it's own, which was a one off bargain.

In short, you can't get there from here properly for 3-5K. HD editing is for the big boys, atleast the medium sized boys. It is not for the weak of heart.

Sorry to burst your bubble.

DBK
__________________
Darren Kelly
Darren Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2004, 08:33 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 163
Thanks for the info.
Will survey around to find out more.

Seems like we may have to increase our budget for HD editing purpose.
Michael Chen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2004, 07:06 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,488
<<<Seems like we may have to increase our budget for HD editing purpose. -->>>

Either that or shoot and edit HDV. One way or the other, you need to get your expectations in line with your budget.
Kevin Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2005, 03:50 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 156
HD Monitor Sony 14L5

$1699 at B&H - does 1080i, 720p, 480p and 480i. HDV is not that far out of reach to the average user, but it does take a lot more cash that most people are willing to pay.
Ed Szarleta is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:11 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network