Need help with going from FCP HD (1080i) to DV! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 27th, 2005, 05:39 PM   #1
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Need help with going from FCP HD (1080i) to DV!

We captured and did work via Lumiere HD and have it in Final Cut Pro. We're trying to go back to tape but in DV, and having problems. What's the best solution?

Thanks,

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2005, 06:30 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
What codec are you using out of Lumiere?

FCP isn't very smart about field handling for downconversions...
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2005, 06:53 PM   #3
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
DVCPro HD 1080i. All I want to do is hit record on my dv deck and play off FCP HD.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2005, 08:00 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Don't think you're gonna be able to do that.

FCP can push still images out firewire from an HD timeline, but that's about it. Won't transcode to DV on the fly.

You'd have to convert your HD sequence to DV...or buy a Blackmagic card and go some sort of analog out of that.
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2005, 08:43 PM   #5
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
How about if we made a 480i quicktime movie and re-imported that into Final Cut Pro HD, then output to DV?

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2005, 09:03 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
That's what I meant about converting your HD sequence to DV.

I haven't been able to get FCP to do a good downconversion yet though...it messes up the fields. Right now I'm using After Effects.
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:11 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network