There is timecode in HDV streams! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 9th, 2005, 10:51 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicoutimi, Canada
Posts: 334
There is timecode in HDV streams!

Whoa...

I am in shock :D I thought that m2t files did not transport timecode but it seems it does. Let me explain myself:

I came across an interresting application called HDVxDV witch claimed that it could keep timecode from HDV sources. I thought that it was a separated file recorded simultaneously with the m2t that could be used to create a timecode embedded QT file. I opened a file not captured with this program in it and... surprise... there was a correct timecode count on a file imported from my Z1. I then figured that I should look at older HDV files from the tests I did with the HD10 2 years ago, a file captured with DVHSCap in september 03 had a timecode that did not correspond to the timecode I have when I read the tape in the Z1 but may be corresponding to the timecode when read by a HD10, but all the clips had timecodes corresponding to the order they where taken... It might be interresting to have HD10 users do a little research on it... This may be due to the different lenght of the GOPs from both formats...
__________________
Eric Bilodeau
video SFX,DOP
___________________
http://www.fictis.net
info@fictis.net
Eric Bilodeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2005, 10:46 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 437
Eric,

The timecode used by this application is incorrect.

Try this with the Z1 or the M1oU, set your beginning timecode to 01:00:00 for instance and record something nto tape. When you capture with this app, you'll see that the timecode does not correspond therefore is unuseable.

We are working on support for accurate SMPTE timecode in the next release of Lumiere HD... as well as full support (including 2:3 Pulldown and realtime editing) for the new HDV 24p format from JVC.

Frederic
Frederic Lumiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2005, 07:29 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicoutimi, Canada
Posts: 334
Ah... Interresting...

I may try that indeed. I wonder how come m2t not captured with this app have a corresponding timecode though, it must mean that some form of timecode gets embedded in the stream... is it?

And about 2:3 pulldown, could you add a reverse pulldown to be able to get 23,98fps progressive Quicktime movies from a CF24 source material from the Z1 in Lumiere? That would really kick ass... I mean really :D Your program does an incredible job so far, the transfers are great, the re-encoding is great too but I have a problem with editing a 2:3 pulldown source in 29,97fps, I'd prefer working 24P, especially if I want to do a fast SD from it, the interlaced frames look weird. As I do a lot of SFX too, progressive frames would be much welcome! Is there an app. that can do that?
__________________
Eric Bilodeau
video SFX,DOP
___________________
http://www.fictis.net
info@fictis.net
Eric Bilodeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2005, 05:18 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 139
Hi Eric, there is timecode in .m2t files.

I described it here: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...threadid=39647

It's just "rec run" timecode.

Concerning reverse pulldown of CF24 material: it isn't possible. CF24 is not true 24fps and never will be. Look here http://www.adamwilt.com/HDV/cineframe.html for an explanation.

Frederic, I look forward to LumiereHD v 2. Seems like you found a way to get the real timecode (ITI sector). Will LumiereHD version 2 do batch capture?
Ben De Rydt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2005, 11:36 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 437
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben De Rydt
Hi Eric, there is timecode in .m2t files.

I described it here: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...threadid=39647

It's just "rec run" timecode.

Concerning reverse pulldown of CF24 material: it isn't possible. CF24 is not true 24fps and never will be. Look here http://www.adamwilt.com/HDV/cineframe.html for an explanation.

Frederic, I look forward to LumiereHD v 2. Seems like you found a way to get the real timecode (ITI sector). Will LumiereHD version 2 do batch capture?
The first version of Lumiere HD 2.0 won't do batch capture but we do plan on including this feature in the future.

Frederic
Frederic Lumiere is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network