FX1 not detected by XP Pro at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 6th, 2005, 08:59 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 15
FX1 not detected by XP Pro

I have a brand new FX1 but I can't get my PC to detect it.

I connect my FX1 via firewire to my PC, and turn the camera to VCR. The HDV light on the firewire connector housing lights up, but XP doesn't see it.

I have a Canon Elura, and if I move the firewire cable from the FX1 to the Elura and turn it on, XP auto-detects (it sound a note, and a bubble notice appears in the system tray, and Device Manager has it listed, etc). Turn it off, it goes away, plug the FX1 in ... nothing.

Am I forgetting something?

Thanks,

Marc
Marc Fairorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2005, 09:07 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 74
Does WinXP natively handle HDV devices?

Try setting the firewire conversion in the FX1 menu ON (HDV->DV). Windows should then recognize it as a DV camcorder.

HDV is pretty new, I didn't know that WindowsXP knows what to do with such devices. That's why people are paying the money to upgrade to Vegas 6 and other upgraded NLE software that can handle the new HDV format.

You can download the Vegas 6 free trial and see if it will capture from your camera.

http://mediasoftware.sonypictures.co...ct.asp?PID=965
John Beale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2005, 09:37 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northampton, MA
Posts: 184
You have to be running service pack 2 on XP for the FX1 to show up.
Jeff Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2005, 09:42 PM   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
No, you don't have to be running SP2 to have the computer see the FX1.

Go to Control Panel>System>Hardware>AVC Subunit with no driver
Right click to Update Driver
Tell Windows you'll locate driver yourself.
Browse to the Sound, Video, Game Controllers.
In there, you'll find two Sony driver options, choose the top one.
In there, you'll find two Sony driver options. Choose the upper one.

Connect the FX1, it will be found.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2005, 09:47 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
John,

Do you even have a HDV camera?

Marc,

Do you have SP2 installed. If you do, then you need to know that there is no ping, no notification, it is not DV, the drivers are not built that way. If you do not have SP2 installed, then do what DSE said.

If you want to see it work, look in the Device Manager (Start > Control Panel > System > Hardware > Device Manager > "Sound video and game controllers"

You will see AV/C Tape Device

That's your camera. Make sure the blue LED for HDV is lit near the firewire connection, not the DV.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2005, 09:49 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northampton, MA
Posts: 184
Right, I should have said you need SP2 if you want the camera to be automatically detected without having to jump through hoops.

Plus almost all of the new versions of editing apps coming out require SP2 so one might as well start getting use to it (I know it sucks for Premiere users as I am one of them.)
Jeff Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2005, 09:52 PM   #7
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Hmmmm.....I'm running Premiere Pro w/out SP2 as well. Same with Vegas and DVXpress.
Not trying to argue, I'm just opposed to using SP 2 as it causes more problems than it fixes, especially with Firewire.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2005, 09:56 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
For Premiere Pro users, the SP2 problems seem to have been solved with the MainConcept and Microsoft fixes. What firewire issues remain? It would be nice to know what's out there lurking in the dark.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2005, 09:58 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 15
Douglas, Steve, and others --

Thanks so much for helping out, it is really appreciated.

I think something else is going on here. If I go to the In/Out menu on the FX1 and turn i.Link Conv ON, then the camera is recognized (XP Pro SP2 sounds a tone, no bubble!, and in Device manager the camera appears under a section named "Imaging Devices" and its listed as Sony DV Camcorder.

If I turn iLink Conv OFF, XP sounds and the listing disappears from Device Manager. The camera is not detected without i.Link Conversion!! Yes, I have the VCR HDV/DV setting on HDV and I shot my footage in HDV.

My computer doesn't recognize the camera in HDV and there is nothing in device manager to update until I turn i.Link Conv back ON.
Marc Fairorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2005, 10:23 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
You are certain it is not under "Sound video and game controllers" as AV/C Tape Device?
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2005, 10:32 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 15
Yes, Steven, you are correct. I got confused since in DV mode it came up under a different section (Imaging Devices). It was there under Sound, Video and Game controllers. I was able to update the device and it is now showing as a Sony D-VHS Device. Thanks.

Additionally, for anyone reading this thread who used Vegas 6.0, you need to go into Preferences/Video and turn OFF "use external application" so that Vegas uses its newer capture app that supports HDV.

DSE, hurry up with your book update! I'm lost (but having fun!)

Thanks again to all,

Marc
Marc Fairorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2005, 10:36 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Book update? I just ordered the darn thing and there will be an update soon?
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2005, 10:55 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 15
lol -- I have Vegas 5 Editing Workshop, so I'm eager for the V6 upgrade that I know he's working on when not poking around in the forums or perhaps making video ...

Thanks again, Steven, for your assistance.

Marc
Marc Fairorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2005, 11:43 PM   #14
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Vegas 6 Editing Workshop is coming, as is Instant Audio....and an update to the HDV book. Plus we just wrapped mastering on the Vegas 6 FASST DVD featuring Mike Chenoweth, Jeffrey Fisher, John Rofrano, and myself.
Oh yeah, we have a new Vegas audio plug in with an audio partner to release next week. Ummmmm...and just got the first directors comment sheet back on "Stand By Your Man" which is a live touring show.
But I"m taking the rest of the night off. ;-)

Curious, since I'm not quite done with the Vegas 6 book, anything in there you'd like to specifically see?
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2005, 12:26 AM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Is the update to the HDV book going to mean I need to buy a whole new copy just days or weeks after buying the original? Or is it going to be an add-on?
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network