HDMI capture after recording, any benefit ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 24th, 2009, 01:41 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ny, ny
Posts: 201
HDMI capture after recording, any benefit ?

I know live HDMI capture of uncompressed video to a PC or portable hard drive has benefits. The question is, once the video is already recorded to the camcorder hard drive or memory card, is there any benefit to transferring the footage to the PC via HDMI ?

This question has been asked before in the past and the answer was no.

However, on another non A/V board, I am in a discussion about the new Blackmagic Intensity card paired with the new 2009 Canon camcorders like the HF20/200. Apparently there now might be some visual benefit to bringing the footage into the PC via HDMI ?

Anyone out there heard about this or have tried the new Intensity card with a new 2009 Canon camcorder ?
__________________
http://www.vimeo.com/ronscuba
Ron Chau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2009, 07:05 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
The fact is that the minute the images hit the recording media the damage is done. One inexorable truth is that you cannot replace what is lost. AVCHD, HDV and other flavors of h.264 are lossy codecs. Your footage has been damaged. Full stop.

Think of it this way. If you have a database on a hard drive and a logic error in the database software always throws away the telephone number you will never have any phone numbers. They are gone, never to return.

The card might try to compensate for the video losses but I cannot see that it would be better than applying compensating filters in post.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2009, 07:45 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ny, ny
Posts: 201
Tripp, that's my belief too.

However, the person I've been discussing with, is claiming the new 2009 Canon camcorders now pass some kind of information or data through the HDMI connection that was not done before. He also claims the new Blackmagic Intensity card reads this new data and it improves on the visual picture.

I find it hard to believe, but thought I'd respect his opinion and at least put the theory out there to see if anyone else has heard of this or seen it work.
__________________
http://www.vimeo.com/ronscuba
Ron Chau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2009, 08:33 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,942
I agree with Tripp. If the Blackmagic card does something with the data then so can your NLE. The data is the data, that can't be changed once its recorded.
Maybe its the extended colour range of HDMI 1.3 that the Blackmagic card is now reading that has always been available to NLE's that could use it. The Sony cams were the first to use this some years ago and was always available if selected at record time.

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network