HDV post issue at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 22nd, 2010, 10:52 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 37
HDV post issue

I have footage that I shot with a JVC GY-HD110 in 720p24 and captured with Premiere CS4. I am running Vista 64, 4gb ram, dual 2.4ghz processors.

I try to watch the .mpeg footage in Media Player and it won't play. Also, when the footage is in the Premiere timeline, the audio and the video are NOT synced. If I play the footage back in the camera, they ARE synced. Whats the trick? Do I need to download some kind of codec/encoder?

Thanks.
Ryan
Ryan Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2010, 07:51 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,257
Has this setup worked previously? That would be my first question.

If you should be needing codecs, an excellent source is the K-Lite Codec Pack which is free to download.

Andrew
Andrew Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2010, 05:27 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Andrew,

You must be a fan of reformatting and fresh installs of OS and programs. Advising anybody to commit kamikaze by using K-Lite goes against my judgment. K-Lite is about the worst pack to install on any machine, it is worse than a tsunami.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2010, 07:00 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,257
I'm quite surprised. Just adding codecs to a Windows installation should not affect any software installs at all. Just makes 'em available for use.

K-lite does come in 3 different configurations / weights according to how much you wish to install. I for one really do like Media Player Classic - it just simply works, and it also gives me extra properties information for video clips.

Andrew
Andrew Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 06:34 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Andrew,

I use MPC as well, but it does not require K-Lite to function.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 08:32 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,257
True, true. And it goes to show what can be done without megabytes of file size for an executable.

My main reason for suggesting K-lite is that you can get a whole bunch of codecs installed fairly easily. If the problem is a missing codec issue, then this is an easy way to fix it.

Speaking of which ... whatever happened to Ryan?

Andrew
Andrew Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2010, 10:56 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 37
I have edited HDV with no problem before, but it was shot with a XH-A1. I have been reading that the JVC and Premiere don't seem to work well with each other? I think I am just going to try capturing with Cineform. Thanks.
Ryan Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2010, 09:15 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
JVC and PR do not work well together if you are talking about MOD files.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2010, 09:07 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Westfield, IN
Posts: 353
Capturing HDV with Cineform

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Thomas View Post
I have edited HDV with no problem before, but it was shot with a XH-A1. I have been reading that the JVC and Premiere don't seem to work well with each other? I think I am just going to try capturing with Cineform. Thanks.
Ryan, which Cineform product are you using to capture HDV footage into Premiere?
__________________
Freelance videographer/editor
www.tjborekvideo.com
Tim Borek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2010, 09:41 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Thomas View Post
I have been reading that the JVC and Premiere don't seem to work well with each other?
Not that capturing with CineForm is a bad idea...but I've used 720p23.98 HDV footage from a JVC camera in Premiere CS3 and CS4 without an issue... I'm not sure what all the available nuances are in the settings though as I don't use a JVC camera myself.

So I guess the primary point is that I don't think there is necessarily some permanent issue between PPro and the JVC ProHD cameras... Which model was the footage shot on? Was it an older model or a newer one? I think the stuff I edited was from a 110...
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 04:21 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
Prem Pro and JVC don't gel directly. mpeg streamclip doesn't help either. cineform works perfectly and if you don't want to go that route but can record directly on a laptop, use onlocation and stream from a firewire to the recording device.

But go for cineform if you can, it will make your editing and finishing a lot less time consuming.
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network