A weird way to do 1080i to 720p? .. or Im nuts? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 18th, 2005, 04:30 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bevery Hills, CA
Posts: 48
A weird way to do 1080i to 720p? .. or Im nuts?

Ok, here is a probably weird and dumb question ....but....

If I shoot 1080i/60i edit it and dump it to tape all in native 1080i/60i and then I hook the component output of my 1080i player to the component input of a 720p recorder like the JVC CU-VH1US-P will it be able to read the signal and record it to 720p, hence converting the 1080i to 720p???
Adrian Vallarino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2005, 05:58 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian Vallarino
Ok, here is a probably weird and dumb question ....but....

If I shoot 1080i/60i edit it and dump it to tape all in native 1080i/60i and then I hook the component output of my 1080i player to the component input of a 720p recorder like the JVC CU-VH1US-P will it be able to read the signal and record it to 720p, hence converting the 1080i to 720p???
Hey... What's wrong with Nuts?

You can always try to record 720p that way, it's just from posts in the past - from people who are obviously just as 'nut tainted' as you, that it doesn't work.

You may find that playing the 1080i to a HDTV, which becomes a pass-through unit, you may be able to get the 720p - but I doubt a direct connection would work... but like I said "you'll never, never know if you never give it a go!!"

I'm sure many HDV camcorder owners are going to discover "hidden capabilities" of our camcorders and peripheral devices - some of which may not even be known to the manufacturers. But there'll be some borderline stuff too. Stuff that'll need the "suck it and see" pioneering spirit (that's generally straight Bourbon), along with a lot of luck.

Isn't new technology fun?!! You get to test out new technology for the manufacturers, beta test it's capabilities with hardware/software that the manufacturer wouldn't buy and pay big bucks to be the first kid on the block to have it.
Steve Crisdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2005, 04:41 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 19
Neither nuts nor dumb nor weird but...

There is no way to record to the JVC CU-VH1US-P using component connections. These types of recorders do not have component inputs, just outputs, preventing Hi-Def recording the analog way.
Jocelyn Deguise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2005, 08:47 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,719
No current HDV equipment has component inputs. We all wish they did but the only way to get HD in right now is through firewire.
Thomas Smet is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network