Broadcast monitor Connection at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 5th, 2014, 04:39 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 104
Broadcast monitor Connection

Hi,

I've recently been given a Sony Broadcast monitor (picture of the back attached) which I'm planning to use for color correction and general viewing device. so a couple of questions:

- I think I need some sort of interface to plug the computer to the monitor? Would something like the
DeckLink Mini Monitor or DeckLink SDI work?
Blackmagic Design: DeckLink Models

- On that case, whats the difference between them?

thanks in advance!

Guille
Attached Thumbnails
Broadcast monitor Connection-img_1077-1-.jpg  
Guillermo Ibanez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2014, 10:45 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA, United States
Posts: 790
Re: Broadcast monitor Connection

This monitor only has composite and component video inputs. You will need a video interface that outputs wither one of these signals. The DeckLink Studio can output composite, but it is standard definition.
Edward Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2014, 11:18 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 104
Re: Broadcast monitor Connection

Thanks for your reply.

Sorry for the ignorance but I'm getting a bit confused. I thought that the monitor was SD anyway so does it matter if the video interface only outputs SD signal?

Thanks
Guillermo Ibanez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2014, 11:41 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA, United States
Posts: 790
Re: Broadcast monitor Connection

Yes, exactly. Composite is SD, so you need to output SD. Most modern cards output HD, since HD is the current standard.
Edward Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2014, 03:11 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 624
Re: Broadcast monitor Connection

Hi Guillermo,

You said in another posting that you do 100% HD editing, so this is NOT the monitor for you. Yes, output devices like BlackMagic and Matrox may be able to convert HD > SD, but then you have a small, letterboxed SD video, too small to properly view and also the SD and HD colorspace is different. Just a bad idea.

I didn't see what NLE you use, assuming Premiere? You can simply set up a second computer display as a full-screen HD preview, and that display could be color-calibrated using available tools. Or a unit like the Matrox MXO2 Mini comes with an HDMI calibration software. But definitely monitor your HD as HD.

Thanks
__________________
Jeff Pulera
Safe Harbor Computers
Jeff Pulera is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:49 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network