Monitors? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 5th, 2005, 06:45 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 47
Monitors?

What is the best configuration for monitoring with the Adobe Premier Pro interface?
2ea. 19" LCD monitors or 1ea 23" LCD monitor.
Also, is there any advantage in using a widescreen monitor over a 3:4 Screen?
How different is the colorspace of An HDTV image as compared to a standard def. NTSC image as viewed on the same LCD television?
Can any Mfgr. LCD computer monitor (Wide Screen) be set up to be used as a preview monitor or should one stick with a "Television" for previewing?
Thanks
Gary Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2005, 03:28 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hilliard, Ohio
Posts: 1,193
I run Avid but used to go with Premiere Pro. Seems to me under either of these the best solution for me is two 19" matching monitors and a seperate NTSC video monitor or at least a television with 16:9 cpability.

Use a dual nvidia card for the PC monitors and run a firewire cable to your deck or camera and run analog video and audio from the deck/camera to the video monitor so you can have real time previews of the actual video.

That's how I do it with Avid.

Sean McHenry
__________________
ĎI donít know what Iím doing, and Iím shooting on D.V.í
- my hero - David Lynch

http://www.DeepBlueEdit.com
Sean McHenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2005, 09:17 AM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
How will I preview?

I will have a dual Nvidia card, but I don't have a camera or deck.
How will I preview?
Susana
Susana Caula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2005, 12:42 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hilliard, Ohio
Posts: 1,193
If you are shooting standard DV formats, you can buy a Canopus or other device that will take your firewire output from your editing system and convert it to standard def. video and audio. You can then watch that on a regular monitor/tv with A/V inputs.

Sean
__________________
ĎI donít know what Iím doing, and Iím shooting on D.V.í
- my hero - David Lynch

http://www.DeepBlueEdit.com
Sean McHenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2005, 02:21 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Modesto, California
Posts: 206
can hdv be previewed out through firewire? I thought it couldn't... I've got the hdmh30k deck for hdv, and if I can preview out through firewire to that into a connected hd monitor then I'm set. by the way I'm using the adobe hdv plugin with 1.5.1. Will this work?
Carlos Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2005, 02:48 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
No, no, no!

HDV can not be sent out the firewire for monitoring purposes from Premiere Pro.

The Nvidia Quadro FX-540 or the Matrox Parhelia APVe graphics cards both have component outputs that will do the job though.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2005, 09:40 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hilliard, Ohio
Posts: 1,193
As far as I know, the only system that can do this is Avid Xpress ProHD with a Mojo. This is because the Avid software takes over the 1394 channel and sends a unique data over the connection to the Mojo. The Mojo is programmed to understand this info flow and convert to (nearly) realtime SD which you can then connect to a real monitor.

There is a special drop-down menu setting for sending HDV out through the Mojo.

Why is this? It is my understanding that in order to do frame accurate editing, the m2t (MPEG long Group Of Pictures) stream is transcribed on the way into most systems into a 3rd party format. This is where applications like Cineform and Adobe's plugin come into play. Avid has their own as does Vegas, I think.

On the way into your system that long GOP MPEG format is converted to an editable video format. You do your edits and render it out, etc. When you are editing, your video is not in a format that the HDV device will understand anymore as it is no longer a true m2t, HDV video/audio stream. The decks and cameras will ignore the signal. In Avids case, the Mojo is programed to see that intermediate signal and can translate but that's unique and specialized hardware for their system only.

Vegas is a bit different and I bow to Douglas Spotted Eagle for all things Vegas. He is the expert on how that system works.

This intermediate format used by the NLE is later converted back to an m2t stream for export. In the Avids case, it needs to render, like the old days, to a file which is then exported to the HDV device automatically, if hooked up and speaks to the system correctly.

That's how I read all this HDV stuff. Some systems vary but that's the way most are doing it.

Sean McHenry
__________________
ĎI donít know what Iím doing, and Iím shooting on D.V.í
- my hero - David Lynch

http://www.DeepBlueEdit.com
Sean McHenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2005, 09:27 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Modesto, California
Posts: 206
I thought so...

Thanks Steven!
Carlos Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2005, 11:28 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 58
Parhelia Availability

I posted this elsewhere, but I need to get a Parhelia PCI-Express card asap and can't find them. Anyone?
Joseph Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2005, 10:42 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
http://www.pricegrabber.com/search_g...sterid=8222435

http://shopmatrox.com/usa/products/datasheet.asp?ID=766
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2005, 10:49 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 58
Many thanks.
Joseph Clark is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network