"Best" Post Prodution Capture/Editing/Rendering Solutions... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 19th, 2006, 11:04 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 27
"Best" Post Prodution Capture/Editing/Rendering Solutions...

I recently purchased a Sony HDR-HC1 and shot 4 hours of video during a recent trip. Using Adobe's PPro 1.5.1 with a trial version of AspectHD I captured my clips and edited a 47 min. video. When I tried to render the video it failed (see my posting here: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=61011). Since this doesn't seem to work I'm not going to spend another $500 for a plug-in.

I started to look at Vegas 6 as a possible solution since I thought it provided native support for the HC1 capturing but not read that I would need a plug-in (Connect HD) to render a final version - another $200 for a plugin. Without any particular knowledge of other Windows based software solutions I am also considering a new computer (a Power Mac G5) dedicated to video editing and using Final Cut Pro.

This is beginning to get a bit frustrating looking for a "reasonable" solution (i.e., one software package) to capture, edit and render and HDV video. Am I missing something or is there simply nothing out there that does this.

Thanks for any feedback,
Carl White
Carl White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2006, 02:50 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Carl,

Is it possible that it didn't work in 1.5.1 because you didn't upgrade your MainConcept codec?

http://www.adobe.com/support/techdocs/330380.html

Aspect HD works great for me.

If you want to edit HDV without Cineform products, you can try Adobe Premiere Pro 2.0 but you better have a powerful PC.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2006, 04:21 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
Vegas 6 does include a version of Connect HD. It's simply not the latest version, which has some image quality improvements (which, from what I read on Cineform's sight, are nice, but by no means necessary).
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2006, 04:28 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 27
Steve - Actually, I did update the Mainconcepts codec as part of a two step update recommended by Adobe. Neither update fixed the issue I am experiencing.

Robin - Thanks for the info. I'll be doing the trial run of Vegas after next weekend (and a clean install of everything on my PC).

Carl
Carl White is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network