question about editing video for first time at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 25th, 2006, 02:03 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 186
question about editing video for first time

I'm about ready to purchase Vegas 6 for editing. I'm hoping this will fullfil my professional needs - i'm hoping it compares to FCP - because I have a windows based system, so I need something else. About dv cable from the Canon XL1S - can I buy one of these from anywhere?? Canon is wanting $50 for the cable 4pin to 4pin (firewire) I guess....Any help would be appreciated. Also, is digital capture built into this editing software - can I do pretty decent sound on it ??? I basically want a music layer, sound effects, (audio from dv tape) and maybe a 4th track for something else....I'm new to this and learning as I go....I just want to make sure I have my bases covered before I drop the money.
Thanks
Dean
Dean Orewiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2006, 04:11 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dean Orewiler
I'm about ready to purchase Vegas 6 for editing. I'm hoping this will fullfil my professional needs - i'm hoping it compares to FCP - because I have a windows based system, so I need something else. About dv cable from the Canon XL1S - can I buy one of these from anywhere?? Canon is wanting $50 for the cable 4pin to 4pin (firewire) I guess....Any help would be appreciated. Also, is digital capture built into this editing software - can I do pretty decent sound on it ??? I basically want a music layer, sound effects, (audio from dv tape) and maybe a 4th track for something else....I'm new to this and learning as I go....I just want to make sure I have my bases covered before I drop the money.
Thanks
Dean
Yes, decent firewire cables are readily available at places like Best Buy, tec, and on line. Check out BH Photo, a sponser of this sie.

DV capture is a part of mmost any editing program, including Vegas. There are also free programs that offer the capability- I think Avid Free has that. Google it.

Vegas does handle multi tracking in video and sound- many consider that. its forte.. I assume you refer to the full version. The Vegas in Movie Studio has limited tracks, if I recall. But there are work around there. In fact Vegas Movie Studio +DVD goes for around $100, and provides striied down versions of Acid (separate sound editor) and DVD Architect, a great DVD authoring tool. You might consider this version first to see if you want tocommit to the higher end versions.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2006, 05:25 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Minnesota (USA)
Posts: 2,171
You might want to look and see if your firewire card (in the PC) has a 6pin input jack. Most do. If it does, you want a 4pin to 6pin cable.
Robert M Wright is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network