Comparison of NLE HD to SD downconversion quality - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 13th, 2006, 09:52 PM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 213
Question to those who are also experimenting with this process: why go through the virtual dub process to resize? I have tried both methods and it seems to me that the PPro 2.0 export as a Cineform HD .avi file imported directly into TMPEGenc and just resized in that program works fine. Am I missing some reason not to just let TMPEGenc just resize as it creates the MPEG?

BTW - I do agree that TMPEGenc quality SD MPEG makes for a MUCH nicer picture over the standard Adobe Media Encoder MPEG-2 DVD export that I used to use.
__________________
Lyon Films www.LyonFilms.com;
Devon Lyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 09:20 AM   #17
Ruler of the DownUnder UnderWorld
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cairns- Queensland - Australia
Posts: 248
Interesting Post great work..

I found that encoding out a DVD file with Prem Pro and Aspect HD from a HDV timline better if I went straight out with Procoder 2 than to HDV to DV to DVD. I could also make progessive DVD's this way for much beter quality.

Now I have EDIUS 4, standard DVD's are abit soft but if you encode out progressive mpeg 2 file straight from the timline they look heaps better.

Im in PAL land and watching PAL and NTSC ones I have made, PAL is beter/larger due to more resolution. PAL- 720/576 NTSC- 720/480

Here are PAL / NTSC files I made straight from the EDIUS PAL HDV timline.
m2t ones
http://www.hdvunderwater.com/videoclips/NTSCshark.m2t 42megs
http://www.hdvunderwater.com/videoclips/PALshark.m2t 42megs

And here is a couple wmv ones
http://www.hdvunderwater.com/videoclips/pal.wmv
http://www.hdvunderwater.com/videoclips/ntsc.wmv
Paul Wags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 10:26 AM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 40
All I have to say about this topic is; ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS 7.0.

I have done hundreds of tests after being dissapointed with Premiere pro 2's crappy downconverts. I have tried the latest Vegas and V'dub and all were soft.

The only way to make an SD clip out of HDV is to resize on render in after effests 7 (select PAL/NTSC widscreen from dropdown menu in stretch box).

I swear that this is THE method to use from all my tests. It looks so good rendered to Huffyuv that it still looks almost like HDV. Super clear, give it a try.

My two cents.
I J Walton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 11:10 AM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 213
I J:

What do you mean by "It looks so good rendered to Huffyuv"?

Does that mean that Huffyuv is a MPEG2 codec I can install into After Effects?
__________________
Lyon Films www.LyonFilms.com;
Devon Lyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 01:12 PM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 40
When I render my HDV (intermediate codec, like cineform for example) to SD in After Effects, I use the Huffyuv lossless codec to keep the best possible quality. Then I take this Huffyuv SD file into Premiere Pro 2 for encoding to MPEG2 (or your own choice of MPEG2 encoder).

I find this to be the absolute best way to keep HD clarity on SD DVD.
I J Walton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 03:37 PM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Texel, the Netherlands
Posts: 42
can I do this also with AE 6.0. (I don't have 7.0)
thanks.
__________________
regards,
Marc Plomp
www.natuurdigitaal.nl
the Netherlands
Marc Plomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 04:22 PM   #22
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 40
I'm not sure. I haven't used AE 6. I think there was a update download that made it suport HDV, I dont know. If you have HDV working in AE6, then I see no reason why it wouldnt work.
I J Walton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 07:13 PM   #23
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 376
Another vote for After Effects as the preeminent resolution squeezer™ - I have converted many a HD project to SD with fantastic results.
Lee Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 07:16 PM   #24
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Plomp
can I do this also with AE 6.0. (I don't have 7.0)
thanks.

I just imported some HDV 1080i (Apple intermediate codec) footage into After Effects 5.5 - no problems.
Lee Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2006, 10:17 AM   #25
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Texel, the Netherlands
Posts: 42
Thanks a lot, I treid 6.0 but I couldn't import a PP1.5.1 hdv clip. I download the trailversie AE7.0 and it worked. But I can't find the huffyuv codec. Can someexplain where I can find this codec.
Also when I rerender a HDV clip to lossless (no compression) DV/pal After effects does a great jobb. The new clip is very sharp. Maybe huffyuv is better,

Thanks
__________________
regards,
Marc Plomp
www.natuurdigitaal.nl
the Netherlands
Marc Plomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2006, 10:37 AM   #26
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
http://neuron2.net/www.math.berkeley...fyuv-2.1.1.zip
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2006, 11:40 AM   #27
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Texel, the Netherlands
Posts: 42
Thanks, this link works, now I can render to huffyuv.
__________________
regards,
Marc Plomp
www.natuurdigitaal.nl
the Netherlands
Marc Plomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2006, 01:33 PM   #28
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 213
Ok, I downloaded the zip Huffey and installed it. Where in After Effects 7.0 does it actually give me the option to use the codec?
__________________
Lyon Films www.LyonFilms.com;
Devon Lyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2006, 03:57 PM   #29
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Texel, the Netherlands
Posts: 42
I found it back in the screen render-options. (after I drag the clip into that screen) normally there is the setting "no compressed" when you click on that , there is an new screen with different options. Succes
__________________
regards,
Marc Plomp
www.natuurdigitaal.nl
the Netherlands
Marc Plomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2006, 06:12 PM   #30
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 213
Thanks, found it! OK, another question, under the Huffy Configuration Dialog box, what "RGB Compression Method" is the best?

There are a number of options: (1) Predict Left No Decorr (Fastest); (2) Predict Left; (3) Predict Gradient (best); (4) Convert to YUY2

Thoughts?
__________________
Lyon Films www.LyonFilms.com;
Devon Lyon is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network