shooting w/ Sony HDW-F900/editing w/ FCP5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 4th, 2006, 09:38 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 113
shooting w/ Sony HDW-F900/editing w/ FCP5

Does Final Cut Pro 5 support Sony's HDW-F900? I'm gonna be shooting a music video and I'm trying to decide whether or not to use this camera or Panasonic's Varicam. If I am able to use the F900 what would be my system settings and would a regular external hard drive with several gigs hold the footage?

Thanks,
Reggie
Reggie Moser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2006, 09:11 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,689
Why would you need 1080i for a music video? If you can get away with 720P go for the Vari. Unless you are going for broadcast HD, you dont gain much from the F900.


ash =o)
Ash Greyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2006, 09:39 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Reggie, post costs shooting HDCAM will be much higher than if you shot Varicam/DVCPRO HD.

If you shot HDCAM, you'd need to rent a J3 deck and bring in via HD-SDI. Most people when workign with HDCAM do standard def downconversions to Digibeta or DVCAM, then edit in that. Then when you have a cut, you use media manager to bring in uncompressed HDCAM. The gotchas in that flow are numerous, and I don't recommend doing it unless you or somebody you hire knows exactly what you're doing.

Your cheap alternative is to use the same deck and bring into FCP as DVCPRO HD, an easliy editable codec that doesn't require an offline/online situation. But, at that point you might as well have shot Varicam.

In short, if you're lost in this woods just asking how to solve the problem here isn't going to help you much. Find somebody to help you before you throw any money away.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2006, 01:57 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 113
Thanks guys,
I think I'll give a really good look at the varicam, which is the way I was leaning.
Reggie
Reggie Moser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2006, 03:03 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,689
FCP and a decent machine will edit Vari footage as easy as DV. You might need to rent a 1200HD deck but you should be able to get one for $300 a day. I would recommend renting for a day to capture and renting for a day to output or rebuild your final edit uncompressed if needed.



ash =o)
Ash Greyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2006, 09:37 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 69
Actually you need a Sony J-H1 Deck. The J3 deck plays Digibeta, Beta SX and Beta Sp. Keep in mind that the J series decks are only playback. For record you need a different deck.
Michael Hendrix is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:39 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network