What's a cheap HDV NLE package? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 8th, 2006, 02:38 AM   #1
Outer Circle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hope, BC
Posts: 7,527
What's a cheap HDV NLE package?

It's all in in the title. :-(
Frank Granovski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2006, 06:37 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 796
iMovie is $2499, but of course it comes with a free brand new MacPro :)
__________________
Dave Perry Cinematographer LLC
Director of Photography Editor Digital Film Production 540.915.2752 daveperry.net
Dave Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2006, 06:09 PM   #3
Outer Circle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hope, BC
Posts: 7,527
Yeah, yeah.... I see I made the wrong choice in computers.
Frank Granovski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2006, 06:18 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Vegas Movie Studio Platinum has HDV native capture. About $75 to $100. Its has a limited version of Vegas, which will meet most needs you will initially have.

If you have Premiere already, you can update to Pro 1.51 which captures in Cineform format, and edits in that same format. About $200 for the update. Or you can update to PPro 2.0 and capture and edit in native. Also about $200.00. You need a good system to handle heavy load of native editing. I am not sure if Premiere Elements stripped down verision does hdv.

Pinnacle Studio 10 plus captures and edits in native HDV. It uses same engine as Liquid Edition. About $75 to $89. Warning, while I have not had issues, some are reporting problems with 10 plus.

Oh, by the way, you didn't get wrong system.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2006, 07:56 PM   #5
Outer Circle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hope, BC
Posts: 7,527
Thanks. :-)

I already bought the wrong system.
Frank Granovski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2006, 08:37 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,415
Hey Frank,

I primarily use Premiere to edit HDV but I also have Pinnacle Studio 10.5 which set me back about $150 and came with a nifty litle analog video breakout box (s-video/composite I/0).

I have heard of problems as Chris Barcellos mentioned in his post about problems with 10 but I guess they had them worked out with 10.5 as I haven't had a single problem.

If I remember correctly Studio 10.5 recommends 2GHz CPU and 1GB of ram.

You can download a trial for free and Studio 10.5 itself is about $70 USD.

http://www.pinnaclesys.com/PublicSit...I+version+10_5
Tommy Haupfear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2006, 05:20 AM   #7
Outer Circle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hope, BC
Posts: 7,527
Pinnacle Studio 10.5, eh? I hope it's professional besides cheap. Thank's, Tommy!

I'm trying to find reviews. If I would have bought a MAC, I would not have this problem of digging for info.
Frank Granovski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2006, 07:34 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 184
Hi

Take a look at Ulead and there new Videostudio 10 plus.

It uses a proxy to edit HDV and it is cheap

Take a look at there site
Ulead.com

Cheers

Hans
__________________
Remember, that English is my second language.
Hans Ledel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2006, 08:04 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NYC Metro area
Posts: 579
For a better idea of what others are experiencing

with Pinnacle Studio, check out www.pinnaclesys.com. Click "Support", then "Forums". You'll find lots of questions and answers there offered from experts to novices. It's often difficult to get answers directly from their tech people, but you'll find some peppered among the forums.

I started w/Studio 9, eventually upgraded to Plus 9, and recerntly bought Premiere Production Suite. Quite a steep learning curve moving from Stuio to Premiere, while I found Studio very easy to learn.
__________________
Denis
------------
Our actions are based on our own experience and knowledge. Thus, no one is ever totally right, nor totally wrong. We simply act from what we "know" to be true, based on that experience and knowledge. Beyond that, we pose questions to others.

Last edited by Denis Danatzko; August 9th, 2006 at 08:08 AM. Reason: Encourge awareness of potential problems.
Denis Danatzko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2006, 08:04 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 416
Buy a cheap unregistered copy of obsolete FCP 4, and crossgrade it to FCS for $199.

(OKOK, you need a Mac. Again. )
__________________
Martin at HeadSpin HD on Blu-ray
Martin Mayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2006, 11:21 PM   #11
Outer Circle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hope, BC
Posts: 7,527
Yeah, I need a MAC again. :-(

If only I were smart....
Frank Granovski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2006, 12:00 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 104
Define "cheap" and the computer system you have right now.

Chris Watson
Watson Videography
Chris M. Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2006, 12:16 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Frank:

I don't think Pinnacle Studio can be termed professional. You can get some professional results using the various components, but it does lack a lot of features the pro suites have. I consider it a good basic entry tool for DV, DVD production, and HDV production that has inherent limitations.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2006, 04:34 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 31
I have Pinnacle 10.5 and Ulead 10

I generally like Videostudio 10 better. Also would run better on less great hardware.
Lawrence Spurgeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2006, 11:55 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: central AZ.
Posts: 36
..someone also mentioned Vegas's Movie Studio Platinum, which is what I would recommend, & it also does primary color correction.. It also includes DVD Architect, to burn DVD's....

..it comes with animated tutorials, a nice chromakeyer, a basic title'er, & you don't need a powerful computer, but it helps...
__________________
tumbleweed
Duane Prince is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network