Anyone use Raylight From DvFilm? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 4th, 2006, 01:53 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
Anyone use Raylight From DvFilm?

I have bought raylight from DvFilm to edit HDV not sure how to convert the correct way for editing need help!
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2006, 03:58 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
Assuming you have everything installed correctly (basically that just means installing the raylight codecs, i think the installer just comes with it):

Open up DVFilm Raylight Control. Make sure you have a folder for "folder for .rayl files" selected (for me it's My Documents folder, for you, whatever you want). Click OK. If you don't have a folder selected, the rest will be for nothing and you'll just get grey solid with "no data" in the middle when you convert.

Open up DVFilm Maker. Open up Process menu --> View Options

I assume you want to convert your 60i footage to 24p.
No letterbox
Make sure all boxes are unchecked UNLESS you don't want 24p and instead just want deinterlaced footage, in which case check "deinterlace where motion is present"

Again, only if you want 24p:
Click 24p editing options
Click Convert 60i to 24p circle
Check "Output to 23.976 exact"
Click OK

and now the settings to convert to raylight regardless:
Click Advanced Options
Check "Resize to" box and type in 1920 x 1080 as your values

Check "User selects compression"
check "User selects output folder" select a folder to output your video to.

Click ok.
Click close.

Click Batch menu item. Drag your .m2t or .mpeg HDV captured streams into this batch window. Click Start Batch. The audio for the first clip will be analyzed and the compression selection window will pop up after a brief progress bar. Find DVFILM RAYLIGHT in the popup menu, ignore the bitrate setting and click OK. It will now convert to 24p Raylight .avi. DVFilm has project settings for popular NLE's on their website (www.dvfilm.com) that you must use to edit Raylight properly. Good luck.
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2006, 09:28 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
Codec Problem!

Having problems with opening HD in DvFilm
Have you seen this error before?

Could not find codec"CFHD"installed for this AVI

going to DvFilm to see if there is an Update!
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2006, 10:43 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
It's telling you it can't find the Cineform decoder needed to open your avi.

I doubt that's a DVFilm issue - Can you open the file in any other application, like windows mediaplayer, virtual dub, etc?
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2006, 10:48 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
Yes I can! almost any media pllayer works!
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2006, 10:51 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
OK, well then I take that back...maybe it is a Raylight thing. Sorry.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2006, 10:54 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
I have these 2 File types of some HD transfers!


CFHDCap-001
M2T File
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2006, 11:05 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
An m2t file is an MPEG2 transport stream, which is how the HDV material is stored on the tape and transfered by firewire to computer.

Cineform's HDLink product (comes with AspectHD and ConnectHD) takes the incoming m2t data and does an on-the-fly conversion to a CFHD-codec avi file.

Depending on the settings, it will either retain or discard the m2t file once the avi has been created.

The point of creating the "intermediate" avi file is that it is much less processor-intensive to open than an mpeg file, for editing etc.

Cineform supplies a Direct-show codec and a Video-for-windows codec ... a given program will use one or the other when opening a CFHD file. It's possible you have only one of these installed, rather than both - might be worth reinstalling your Cineform product?
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2006, 01:25 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
I have DvFilm Converting 60i to 24p M2T file Right now!

But Should I keep 1080x1440 the same instead of streching the frame to 1920x1440? Does anyone Know?

Is there a reason I should strech?

Thx Again for your help!
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork

Last edited by Steven Houser; November 5th, 2006 at 06:36 PM.
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2006, 06:41 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
60i to 24p In DVFilm To stretch or not to stretch

Im kinda stuck! should I stretch to 1920x1440 or Not?
Remember my footage from HDR-FX1 is 1080x1440!

Thx! need to get over this bump! before I turn 60 mins of 1080 60i to 24p 1920x1440
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2006, 11:12 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Houser
Im kinda stuck! should I stretch to 1920x1440 or Not?
Remember my footage from HDR-FX1 is 1080x1440!

Thx! need to get over this bump! before I turn 60 mins of 1080 60i to 24p 1920x1440
Your footage is 1440x1080, not 1080x1440 actually. And you must use the resize function with 1920x1080 enabled, Raylight will not function otherwise. It doesn't stretch the picture, it just changes the 1440x1080 with 1.33 ratio to 1920x1080 with 1.0 square pixel ratio. Same footage, don't fret.
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2006, 11:23 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
Great thx Ben Now I can Sleep!

Hey another question for ya you might know!
I would like to render Quicktime files to share instead of Wmv!
Does quicktime have a special templates for rendering say 1440x1080 or have you heard of such?

Thx again Ben!
O yea Im using Fusion5 and V7..
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2006, 08:27 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
Hey Ben!
I Did the Dvfilm 1920x1440 I did not go Raylight yet, and now it is a square not wide!
What did I do wrong?
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2006, 01:21 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
Steven,

First, it is 1920 by 1080 NOT 1920x1440.

Second, The 1920x1080 dimensions are a requirement of Raylight conversion, nothing else. You should have used the RAYLIGHT codec as in my instructions. If you are not using the Raylight codec, do not use the resize function.

As I said earlier:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Winter
And you must use the resize function with 1920x1080 enabled, Raylight will not function otherwise.
All these instructions are outlined in the quickstart guide that comes with DVFilm Maker and on their website as well.
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2006, 10:13 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
Great thx Ben! I imported a 3 sec clip in vegas7 M2t file then I went to Dvfilm and used the settings exactly as u advised then used Raylight to convert, Dos window came up pressed enter and the avi. file was converted..
I still have a question, my properties on clip are 1920x1080
in the raylight folder im using 1.79Gig 3 sec file wow! Does this sound right?
Also I seen that the raylight panel says system default 60i/60p? Is that a Standard even though my clip is now 24p?

Thx for all your help Ben!
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network