What is the Best Way to get good Audio to my HDR-FX1? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 5th, 2006, 01:59 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
What is the Best Way to get good Audio to my HDR-FX1?

Any one have a good sugestion about the audio on the HDR-FX1?

Have Nice Boom Mic ... should I get seperate phantom power supply and go from mic to it to HDR-FX1?

I Need Good Sound! Im Trying to make a Low Budget Film Over Here!

Any help would be great!
Thx!
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2006, 03:01 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: France
Posts: 578
Hi Steven

You need a Beachtek or Sign Video adapter... both work fine in the FX1...
Both screw under the camera and can be left in place...both have threads to add you tripod plate...

Google search for their sites and check out the sponsors of this site Zotz ans B&H where you can buy online...

regards

Gareth
Gareth Watkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2006, 10:15 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
Thx Gareth!

That is Exactly What I Need!
Woohoo!!
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2006, 10:49 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
the only way to get a good sound is to feed a good sound to the camera.
for prosumer camera, there is no way to count on the electronic in the camera, it will be bad.
so , the rigth way is to plug your mics into a good mixi table (preferrably with all symmetric signals) anf get a line level out of the mix table to feed camera.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2006, 11:00 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
mixi table? A mixer?
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2006, 01:24 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
Not really sure what giroud is talking about, but gareth's solution I know is a good one. Just get a beachtek. I have one with my FX1 and love it.
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2006, 01:26 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Castle IN.
Posts: 178
Great Im ordering one Monday!
Thx Ben!
__________________
Steven Lee Houser
http://vimeo.com/testwork
Steven Houser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2006, 03:32 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
sorry for the typo, yes a mixer that output line level (not mic level).
amplifier from the camera is bad, and there is no way to properly control left and right channel separately.
with a mixer you can do anything you want and feed the cam with a rock solid high level signal.
A good mixer will allow to display input levels so you can see what is going on while recording. the display on the FX1 is just a joke for that purpose.
A mixer can be remotely operated by a sound engineer (or your wife, for cheap production).
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2006, 11:26 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,435
I'm with Giroud on this.

The cam's mic pre-amps are atrocious - too much noise.

Since you're on the budget... get an external mixer board - like Mackie 1202VLZ with fantastic mic preamps - and feed its output into your camera. Mic, obviously, goes into the mixer board.

This way, the most delicate part - pre-amping the sound at low noise - is taking care of, and you can record the line-level mixer output on-camera for sound sync.

I'd of course recommend to NEVER use this camera for any serious sound work since even at line levels, the sound is so-so.

Instead, use double-system.

Better yet (but NOT a budget solution): multiplex analog video output of the camera (Z1) in HD with mixer's analog sound output - by using a Blackmagic Multibridge, then capture that multiplexed signal over HD-SDI.

What you get is essentially all the benefits of the professional DOUBLE system, PLUS the joy of *not* having to sync in post... since it's multiplexed and sync'd already!

Enjoy.
Alex Raskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2006, 11:43 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Winter
Not really sure what giroud is talking about, but gareth's solution I know is a good one. Just get a beachtek. I have one with my FX1 and love it.
Same here. I am using an old one that I got for my VX2000 original (DX4a, I think) and it is great for the FX1.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network