Blackmagic HD Studio Card at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 2nd, 2007, 06:28 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 14
Blackmagic HD Studio Card

Okay so Blackmagic just released an HDMI/Component capture card. Up until now I was going to by the SDI version. The deck that is coming is the JVC BR-HD50U HDV, which offers hdmi out and component out. I guess my true questions is...will I regret not getting SDI (although I can't use it right now) or be fine with the HDMI output?
Thanks.
Cecil Searcy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 07:32 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 789
That's a good question. It would seem to me that one potential gotcha would be capturing video and Time Code via HDMI. I don't think HDMI carries time code. I guess you could use the IEEE 1394 for TC.

At least with HD SDI you get it all through one pipe.
__________________
David Parks: DP/Editor: Jacobs Aerospace at NASA Johnson Space Center
https://www.youtube.com/user/JacobsESCG
David Parks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 10:07 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 14
Rs 422

Wouldn't the RS 422 carry that information? or is that just for controling the deck?
Cecil Searcy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2007, 10:53 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 789
Cecil, Yes that would work as well, however I ran across this old post over from the JVC HD 110/200/250 section.

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=83991

Start with Tim Dashwood's posting. He has good experience with capture cards and the BR HD 50.
Seems as if there is a problem with HDCP (copy protection) with HDMI outputs. JVC might have a patch to turn off the HDCP. Anyway I sort of poked around and found this.

EDIT: http://www.convergent-design.com/CD_...DConnectMI.htm

http://www.blackmagic-design.com/products/intensity/

Assuming that the HDCP is turned off, this is a pretty slick capture solution for only $900.00 for both the card and the converter box.

Cool find on the Intensity Cecil.

Hope it helps,
__________________
David Parks: DP/Editor: Jacobs Aerospace at NASA Johnson Space Center
https://www.youtube.com/user/JacobsESCG
David Parks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2007, 10:49 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 14
Thanks

Thanks David. After some thinking it might be better to stick with the SDI Blackmagic card for use in the future. And use component out of the deck to eliminate the GOP.
Cecil Searcy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:24 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network