HDV to DVCPRO HD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 18th, 2007, 06:52 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 319
HDV to DVCPRO HD

In another thread, someone suggested making cuts in HDV, then copying and pasting all into a DVCPRO HD sequence and doing color correcting, after effects, etc. there.

I was wondering if there are any others who have tried it and liked it?

My osbervations:

I tried it and to my eyes, once rendered, DVCPRO HD did look better in the Canvas.

One thing I noticed working in the HDV timeline was that playback wasn't so great, the picture looked grainy. But when I stopped playback the frame was clearer, better. The DVCPRO HD sequence looked great in motion just like the stopped playback in HDV.

Initially, pictures from Photoshop placed in the HDV timeline needed their aspect ratio adjusted. When pasted into the DVCPRO HD sequence they needed more adjusting.

Finally, after exporting to Compressor from the FCP timeline to obtain 320x180 QT movies for web uploading, the two versions looked very similar, though maybe the DVCPRO HD was slightly darker, or so it seemed in the skin tone and a few other places.

So maybe it ain't superior! I dunno.

Any comments?

thanks
elmer
http://elmerlang.com
Elmer Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 08:03 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Topanga, CA
Posts: 139
Elmer,

I also have heard this.
I haven't tried it yet, but will be shooting something next weekend
where I am planning to try this workflow.

I'll try to remember to let you know.

Maybe someone with direct experience will jump into this.
I'm sure people are trying it.

David
David McGiffert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2007, 11:33 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: .
Posts: 105
There are some serious advantages to getting into the DVCProHD codec over HDV - many of which you are discovering. It requires less CPU overhead, exists in a better colorspace, and is more compatible with other apps. Another option is to go with a 3rd party card like BMD or a Kona that would allow you to capture directly into DVCProHD. If you have a camera with HDMI, you could use the BMD Intensity card ($249 - cheap) to do this.

-gl
__________________
http://www.motoxpress.com
George Loch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2007, 10:18 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Elmer, it is very unlikely that you will see any difference at all in such a highly compressed final product (web download). The real advantage of such a workfow should be tested on a full res HD monitor.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2007, 12:30 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: .
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ervin Farkas View Post
Elmer, it is very unlikely that you will see any difference at all in such a highly compressed final product (web download). The real advantage of such a workfow should be tested on a full res HD monitor.
Yes, this is most likely true if the final output was a 320x240 video. however, I always plan for multi-use with my products where budget permits ie. Projection, TV, DVD, Web.

-gl
__________________
http://www.motoxpress.com
George Loch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 11:36 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pensacola Fl.
Posts: 627
George Loch

I have an intensity card and I do not see an option to capture in DVC pro HD.

Can you tell me how it is done?
Ron Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 02:24 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: .
Posts: 105
What are you using to capture? BMDs tool or your NLE?

-gl
__________________
http://www.motoxpress.com
George Loch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 03:06 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pensacola Fl.
Posts: 627
I am using the presets that the Blackmagic drivers installed into Premiere Pro 2.0.

You have Blackmagic HD 8bit-4,2,2 codec and 10 bit codec there is also mjpeg codec.

I used the preset Blackmagic HD 8bit-4,2,2 codec . So far I have not done any HD projects I have messed around a bit and am running test to see how I will use this new technology.

I sure would love to hear from anyone using the intensity card.
Ron Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 03:40 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: .
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Little View Post
I am using the presets that the Blackmagic drivers installed into Premiere Pro 2.0.

You have Blackmagic HD 8bit-4,2,2 codec and 10 bit codec there is also mjpeg codec.

I used the preset Blackmagic HD 8bit-4,2,2 codec . So far I have not done any HD projects I have messed around a bit and am running test to see how I will use this new technology.

I sure would love to hear from anyone using the intensity card.
Ok. In PPro on the PC, th Mjpeg codec is BMDs answer to DVCProHD since that codec is only available on the mac. You should get the similar performance in terms of compression and quality with this.

-gl
__________________
http://www.motoxpress.com
George Loch is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network