Computer for editing HD footage? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 17th, 2007, 08:31 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dunedin, Florida
Posts: 41
Computer for editing HD footage?

Well my 1 Gig 4 year old cpu doesn't look like it's gonna cut it when it comes to editing in HD, so I was wondering what some of you have found successful. Mac or PC? Specs if possible. Also what editing programs are working well. I've been using Vegas 5. What works for you? Thanks, Tony
Tony Coleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2007, 09:45 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 9
I built my own PC, I have 4 gig of memory, Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6700, Nvidia 8800 768MB, EVGA NVIDIA nForce 680i SLi, Adobe Production Studio Premium, and Raid 0 1TB hard drive for video storage and it really runs smooth in editing HD. I recomend having Raid 0 drive for editing HD it makes your computer runs faster to access your video files no matter what editing programs you use. Some people like me like to build their own PC but in the long run you might come out with the same spec. and price buying manufactured PC and better warrantee so it is your chioce.
Danny Aldaca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2007, 10:44 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 114
My 3.5 years old laptop with 3GHz CPU and 1G of ram works ok for HDV editing. It's the final encoding when downconverting for DVD authoring that kills it. For the time being, I get around the problem by running rendering overnight and early morning before I go to work. This way I edit in the evening and don't notice much of a slowdown in my workflow. The computer works N-times longer, though.

As far as software, I am pretty much an all-Adobe shop. I edit in Premier Pro 2 and After Effects 7, and author DVDs in Encore 2. What I like about Adobe products is their integrated workflow, among other things.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Coleman View Post
Well my 1 Gig 4 year old cpu doesn't look like it's gonna cut it when it comes to editing in HD, so I was wondering what some of you have found successful. Mac or PC? Specs if possible. Also what editing programs are working well. I've been using Vegas 5. What works for you? Thanks, Tony
Maksim Yankovskiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2007, 11:08 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 136
Well I haven't edited HDV yet (I should be getting my XH-A1 somewhere between tomorrow and Monday, XDXDXD) but I would personally go with a Mac. I have an Intel Core2 Duo iMac with 2 GB of RAM and a 250 GB hard drive, and it's worked fine for me. I'm still trying to figure out Final Cut Pro, but it's pretty easy. Hell, even iMovie can edit HDV. Not 24p, but it can edit HDV if you want simple cuts and transitions. But for more professional editing software I'd suggest Final Cut Pro. Adobe Premiere Pro CS3 is also coming out in July (and it'll finally be for Mac) and the Preview seems to work great, even though I have a lot of dropped frame issues with Adobe, but I'm sure it's an easy fix, I just gotta find it.
Jerrod Cordell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2007, 11:53 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 104
if this is a desktop, all you have to really do is plug in a faster processor and more ram
__________________
"Shoot first and ask questions later"
Art Willig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 12:13 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow/Scotland
Posts: 626
I'm another home built Quad Core/4Gb/1tb Raid Happy user. Also using Vegas which you will know by now, is ULTRA stable and handles HDV with no fuss (ver 7). The Quad core really helps with rendering and also mean I can open another instance of Vegas and happily edit away/playback from the timeline whilst the other video renders and you'd never know it was going on.
Alastair Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 01:10 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alastair Brown View Post
I'm another home built Quad Core/4Gb/1tb Raid Happy user. Also using Vegas which you will know by now, is ULTRA stable and handles HDV with no fuss (ver 7). The Quad core really helps with rendering and also mean I can open another instance of Vegas and happily edit away/playback from the timeline whilst the other video renders and you'd never know it was going on.
Same here!
Vegas is the only NLE that can utilize all 4 cores at 100% at the moment.
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 05:11 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ens, The Netherlands
Posts: 198
Hi,

At the moment i am using a A8N-SLI Premium motherboard with a AMD X2-4400 processor. 2 Gb internal memory and 3.5 Tb of harddisk storage.

For the easy work I use Pinnacle Studio. (HDV to DVD without the extra works)
With Sony Vegas and Premiere Pro 2.0 I do the rest of the editing work.

The special effects are added with Vision Lab Studio and Lightwave 8.5 at the moment.

All programs use incredible amounts of processortime. In the future I want to move to a hardware solution to do real time editing.
But for now: I recomend a good Dual Core or Quad Core PC with at least 2 Gb memory and enough harddrive space. Software: Vegas 7.0 and if you have the money for it: built a RAID for the video. That will be a real time saver.

Good luck with finding the new pc.....

Oh...one tip: buy a good house for your hardware. I have the Cooler Master Stacker. Plenty of harddrive space, great cooling and very silent.
Gert Kracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 08:43 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Peel,Isle of Man(UK)
Posts: 194
I use an Apple ibook G4 - 1.33GHz/768MB ram

Not easy,not fun! I'm still deciding whether to go Apple or PC....
__________________
Canon XH-A1,SGPRO flip,Apple imac,FCExpress
http://www.pbase.com/philkneen
Phil Kay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 09:50 AM   #10
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Moved from Canon XH to HD / HDV Editing Solutions.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 01:09 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philly,PA
Posts: 360
Would a Vegas 7 editor with a truly kick ass HDV set up be so kind as to post
their complete specs? Mobo, CPu, Ram brand, even case and psu.

My P4 3.4G machine is just no longer ideal. I'm addicted to HDV. There's no going back.

"Oh, I'll just spend $3K on the A1 and import as DV." says the man nearly $10K later.
Eric Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 06:02 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Sunny Ole England
Posts: 18
I dont use anything special, a p4 dual processor 2.8 running at 3.2 gig. 1gb ram, 3 internal hard drives and 3 external hard drives, all 7200 rpm but again nothing special, just off the shelf stuff. Theres an ATI gfx card somewhere in there with dual head support but it cost about £30 so 60 usd. Seems to cope very well with editting in Premier elements and fairly well at converting with mpeg streamclip. Probably needs another gb of ram at some point but Im in no hurry.
Richard Mather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 08:08 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,961
"Would a Vegas 7 editor with a truly kick ass HDV set up be so kind as to post
their complete specs? Mobo, CPu, Ram brand, even case and psu."

Unfortunately, I am yet to be a kick-ass Vegas editor, but my machine seems very fast. I would probably buy the E6700 today instead of the E6600 as it has gone down in price. I might even buy the Quadcore Q6600 for a bit over $500. I like the Gigabyte board because it has solid capacitors. I bought a reasonably fast video card in case I want to use Magic Bullet and in hope that more software will start to use the VPU for rendering.

GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3 LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel® Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe Processor 2.4GHz, 1066FSB, LGA775, 4MB Cach

OCZ OCZ2P800R22GK 2GB Kit DDR2 PC2-6400 Platinum Revision 2 Dual Channel Memory

XFX PVT71GUQF3 GeForce 7900GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS 320GB Serial ATA 7200RPM Hard Drive w/16MB Buffer

Zalman ZM600-HP HeatPipe Cooled 600w Modular Power Supply

Coolermaster RC-631-KKN1-GP Mystique 631 Aluminum Mid Tower Case (Black)

In addition to this list, I already have a 10,000rpm SCSI drive and I'll probably get another SATA drive like the one listed.

I got about half of the order from Newegg and the rest from zipzoomfly.com. ZipZoomfly has better shipping costs to Hawaii so I bought the case and power supply from them.

Any name-brand RAM should suffice. I have used Crucial, Corsair, and Kingston successfully in the past. I chose some with slightly lower latency than average. Don't be fooled by the 1066FSB on the Intel chips. They only use 800MHz RAM (PC2-6400). In these machines, the FSB and memory are very much separate. All system functions seem to have their own clock so one can be changed without effecting something else. Changing the FSB doesn't seem to effect PCI, PCIX, or RAM timings.

My install went very smoothly. I went with all SATA devices so the cabling looks nice and neat. The Zallman power supply is very quiet and it's modular cabling contributes to a clean case. I got tired of the inevitable rust that comes with steel cases in Hawaii so I went with the all-aluminum case.

Everything is also fairly quiet. The big 120mm fans on the case don't whine and the stock Intel CPU cooler seems to do a good job without making a racket. I upgraded the stock VPU cooler to a Zallman because it is very quiet and I live in a warm environment. In addition to the fans being quiet, the onboard sound is much better than I've experienced in the past. It has no noticeable hiss or whine.

The only shortcoming to all this is that the motherboard doesn't have firewire/ieee1394. I already had a firewire card laying around so I used that. Make sure to use a card with the Texas Instruments chipset for best OHCI compatibility.

I haven't put this through any punishment yet, but so far it seems very fast and the build was easy.
Marcus Marchesseault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 09:58 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
In my tests, low latency RAM doesn't do anything for Vegas. Higher memory bandwidth will make a few percent difference in performance. You can make sure you get full memory bandwidth by using pairs of identical RAM, and installing them in the right slots (should be color coded now, though you can check your motherboard's manual).
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2007, 04:39 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Birmingham Alabama
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alastair Brown View Post
I'm another home built Quad Core/4Gb/1tb Raid Happy user. Also using Vegas which you will know by now, is ULTRA stable and handles HDV with no fuss (ver 7). The Quad core really helps with rendering and also mean I can open another instance of Vegas and happily edit away/playback from the timeline whilst the other video renders and you'd never know it was going on.

Have you had any locking up issues while rendering? Are all 4 cores at 100% or close? I have a qx6700 and with vegas it seems to have issues... Just curious what your experience was...
Doug Davis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:56 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network