Sensor Has Dirt In The Module at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC 4K Pro Handheld Camcorders

JVC 4K Pro Handheld Camcorders
GY-LS300, GY-HM200, HM170 and HM-Q10 recording 4K Ultra-High Definition video.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 27th, 2017, 08:10 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Flint, Michigan, USA
Posts: 359
Sensor Has Dirt In The Module

So I notice while scrubbing through the footage that I have dirt inside the sensor module. I thought it was a lens until I put the lens on the other LS3. I sent it out to the nearest professional repair shop to get it cleansed and they were unable to clean it. I was told that the module is seal close with no way to get inside of it for cleaning. I will have to send back to JVC and hope they do not tell me I have to buy another Sensor module. Has anyone else tried to clean the sensor?
__________________
JVC GY-LS300 / Samsung NX1 / E1 by Z / Adobe CC 2017 / PC Win 10
Aaron Jones Sr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2017, 11:34 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: King George, Virginia
Posts: 67
Re: Sensor Has Dirt In The Module

Not sure I understand the issue. If you are talking about dust on the sensor's protective glass, it is all readily accessible once you remove the LS300 lens mount cap. Just like a digital still camera. Is there something between the cover glass and the sensor?
Luke Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2017, 02:03 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Flint, Michigan, USA
Posts: 359
Re: Sensor Has Dirt In The Module

The sensor module is said to be sealed and you can not open the sensor module once you remove it for the camera. So you can not get to the sensor because the protective glass is the top part and the sensor is the bottom and they are manufacturer sealed together. the tech said that they must have used an epoxy or something similar.
Attached Thumbnails
Sensor Has Dirt In The Module-dirt.jpg  
__________________
JVC GY-LS300 / Samsung NX1 / E1 by Z / Adobe CC 2017 / PC Win 10
Aaron Jones Sr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2017, 04:22 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: King George, Virginia
Posts: 67
Re: Sensor Has Dirt In The Module

Since the problem is foreign objects getting inside the "sealed" sensor stack I would think JVC would be very interested. Sounds very much like a manufacturing defect. Possibly they will give you a courtesy repair.
Luke Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2017, 05:13 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,046
Re: Sensor Has Dirt In The Module

Did you not see this right after you got the camera? Those are some very obvious dirt spots, it's hard not to see them.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2017, 05:27 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 131
Re: Sensor Has Dirt In The Module

Could it be dirt on one of the ND filters?
Lee Powell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2017, 08:32 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Flint, Michigan, USA
Posts: 359
Re: Sensor Has Dirt In The Module

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke Miller View Post
Since the problem is foreign objects getting inside the "sealed" sensor stack I would think JVC would be very interested. Sounds very much like a manufacturing defect. Possibly they will give you a courtesy repair.
Well I opened a case on Ebay against the seller to be safe. I purposed if they did not have warranty information to get this resolved then I would like to have a full refund. They responded by saying that the cam has a one year warranty and maybe at the time when they bought it it may have a 3 year extended warranty. They mentioned that they purchased the camera from B&H. So I'm confident this will get taken care of. When I messaged them before opening the case they were kind of nonchalant and said I will be back in the office Thursday. When I open the case and threatened with a full refund they seem to hop right to it and try to contact JVC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noa Put View Post
Did you not see this right after you got the camera? Those are some very obvious dirt spots, it's hard not to see them.
Not right away. I will say this though, it was there while shooting part of my music video. So I believe that it came from what ever part of the module itself half way through my shoot. I checked the footage before and it was not there. When i get to the car scene I noticed it. The next day after shooting it was there and after messing around with it it has disappeared again but now you can see a spot where it was. So to answer you question, no I did not see it at first.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Powell View Post
Could it be dirt on one of the ND filters?
I can say with out the ND's active the dirt was there. But it could have come from the ND's though. I will habe to check and see if the NDs are inside or outside the sensor module. If they are outside of the module then it is not possible.
__________________
JVC GY-LS300 / Samsung NX1 / E1 by Z / Adobe CC 2017 / PC Win 10

Last edited by Aaron Jones Sr.; June 29th, 2017 at 11:47 AM.
Aaron Jones Sr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2017, 02:41 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Flint, Michigan, USA
Posts: 359
Re: Sensor Has Dirt In The Module

Ok, so I sent my LS3 in to JVC and just got it back today. It turns out that they had to replace the sensor assembly. The cost was $2950. Thank God for warranty repair. I have attached the part listing that I found online.

PacParts: JVC MP2-0607-00
Attached Thumbnails
Sensor Has Dirt In The Module-mp2-0607-00.jpg  
__________________
JVC GY-LS300 / Samsung NX1 / E1 by Z / Adobe CC 2017 / PC Win 10
Aaron Jones Sr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2017, 04:14 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: King George, Virginia
Posts: 67
Re: Sensor Has Dirt In The Module

Glad JVC covered it and you have it back
Luke Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2017, 09:55 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 943
Re: Sensor Has Dirt In The Module

Aaron - It's good that it got fixed without having to pay for the part.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron Jones Sr. View Post
.... I can say with out the ND's active the dirt was there. But it could have come from the ND's though. I will habe to check and see if the NDs are inside or outside the sensor module. If they are outside of the module then it is not possible.
However, It'd sure be nice to know what this "thing" was, where it came from, and how it got in there.Was it a foreign piece of matter or was it a piece of something, like a piece of foam from something inside, for example. Was the particle in there due to handling (like a bump), manufacture, or via lens changing? Is this something that can be avoided?

Anyway, more details from the repair facility would be helpful.

Edit: one could almost buy a new cam for what the part cost (if you had to buy the part).
John Nantz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2017, 10:27 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Flint, Michigan, USA
Posts: 359
Re: Sensor Has Dirt In The Module

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Nantz View Post
Aaron - It's good that it got fixed without having to pay for the part.


However, It'd sure be nice to know what this "thing" was, where it came from, and how it got in there.Was it a foreign piece of matter or was it a piece of something, like a piece of foam from something inside, for example. Was the particle in there due to handling (like a bump), manufacture, or via lens changing? Is this something that can be avoided?

Anyway, more details from the repair facility would be helpful.

Edit: one could almost buy a new cam for what the part cost (if you had to buy the part).
I will give them a call in the morning when they open and inquire. It would have had to be a piece of something from with in. I know this because when I sent it out to a local repair center they told me that the sensor module could not be opened that it is manufacture sealed. When I sent it to JVC they put in another sensor module. This tells me that the object could not have come from outside the module but inside. I will call in the morning and get more information.
__________________
JVC GY-LS300 / Samsung NX1 / E1 by Z / Adobe CC 2017 / PC Win 10
Aaron Jones Sr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2017, 02:24 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,046
Re: Sensor Has Dirt In The Module

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron Jones Sr. View Post
Ok, so I sent my LS3 in to JVC and just got it back today. It turns out that they had to replace the sensor assembly. The cost was $2950. Thank God for warranty repair.[/url]
What a ridiculous estimate that is, and they are actually going to replace the sensor? You can get a new ls300 for 2595 now: https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...eld_s35mm.html so it would have been much easier just to send you a new one and use the old one for parts.
Noa Put is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC 4K Pro Handheld Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:29 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network