We started to ship the other day. - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U
All about the original single-CCD HDV camcorders from JVC.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 6th, 2003, 12:59 AM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 358
I wasn't thinking about the videographer, but the final target audience. If all clients are going to need $15k's worth of HDTV to get the benefit from this...well, it ain't gonna happen.
Nigel Moore is offline  
Old June 8th, 2003, 02:10 AM   #17
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Steve,

Can you name an HDTV off the top of your head (a brand) that I could go to Circuit City and buy to demo this camera in a week? Circuit City's liberal return policy makes this very easy.

Thanks,

heath

<<<-- Originally posted by Steve Mullen : <<<-- Originally posted by Nigel Moore : Yang, you echoed exactly what I was thinking...if the majority of people (including those with 'cheap' HDTVs) can't see a good picture from it, it's of pretty limited value to say the least. -->>>

I think I already explained what Ken hopefully ment to say. (And, certainly what JVC's position is.) To get MAXIMUM pix quality use a progressive display with at least 1280x720 rez. These devices are very expensive -- hence his comment about cheap HDTVs.

But this is a good time to say that I suspect there is not a lot of understanding about plasmas, plus LCD and DLP projectors amongst NTSC video folks. (In fact, perhaps not about rear-projection HDTV.)

Like Ken, I fear we will see folks connecting the camcorder to an uncalibrated interlaced HDTV at Sears and saying it doesn't look great.

Also, an LCD RGB computer monitor, even Apple's, very likely does not color-space or gamma match an HD display. (Nor an NTSC display. That's why folks don't color correct using their RGB monitor!)

By the way, a SMPTE-C phosphor monitor does not display the HD color-space either. So that's not the way to judge HD color accuracy.

In short, you'll need calibrated high-quality HD tools (your NTSC vectorscope is not valid for HD) to make judgements.

For viewing, use whatever you've got. -->>>
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old June 8th, 2003, 12:25 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 386
HD1 footage on Apple HD 23" Cinema Display

Hi,
A previous poster asked for impressions of the HD1 image as viewed on an Apple HD 23" cinema Display.
I played two clips from the HD1 ( the jellyfish clip and another fish tank clip that was posted online) on this display full-screen using the VLAN player on the Mac.
My impression was that the resolution of the picture was way beyond anything achievable with any DV SD camera that I know of. The detail was rich enough that it made me wonder if the footage was actually from this low cost camera.
As for color reproduction, I really can't judge, as those clips were not good to judge it by. They were tinted by glass and water produced artifacts. In the Jellyfish clip, which has a lot of blacks in it, I did notice some blocky artifacting in certain areas of the blacks, not sure if this was camera, compression, or low-light induced . The reds seemed to be blooming a bit to me also, I really want to get a hold of this camera and do a side by side comparison with my Ikegami, which has one of the best DV images out there. and see how it holds out.
I did do a quick comparison with some high-end shot DV footage, and the JVC HD1 footage definately looked much more detailed and far less pixelated. You really have to view on a HD monitor to appreciate this.

All the best
__________________
Paul
Paul Mogg is offline  
Old June 8th, 2003, 05:13 PM   #19
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
<<<-- Originally posted by Heath McKnight : Steve,

Can you name an HDTV off the top of your head (a brand) that I could go to Circuit City and buy to demo this camera in a week? Circuit City's liberal return policy makes this very easy. -->>>

Since there are no 720p HDTVs -- the answer is no. :(

But, if you use either the HD10's or the TVs up-converter then you can use any HDTV. I've heard nothing but great things about Hitachi's 53-inch.

I'ts about $2,700. There are others at only $1,500 -- but they are smaller and likely have compromises.

But whatever you get, you must get it ISF calibrated!

Does CC carry the HD1?
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline  
Old June 8th, 2003, 06:39 PM   #20
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Thanks, Steve. Doesn't look like they're selling the Hd-1 at Circuit City or any of the other similar places. My original intentions were to buy that from CC and test it, then return it, then buy an HD10. Of course, the HD10 and HD1 are rumored to be slightly different in picture, I think.

mysimon.com had a listing, mostly of mail order PC/Mac and video box houses. Even Gateway sells it, probably for their new, non-HD plasma flat panel TV. All for $3495, or so; of course, this lady in Boca Raton, FL (where I'll be demoing the HD10 next week) says they're selling the HD10 for $3400. Oh, and nothing on the HD10 at mysimon.com.

I wonder who'll be the first of us to write a review??

Heath McKnight
9:04 AM, a new film from MPS Digital Studios
www.904am.com


<<<-- Originally posted by Steve Mullen : <<<-- Originally posted by Heath McKnight : Steve,

Can you name an HDTV off the top of your head (a brand) that I could go to Circuit City and buy to demo this camera in a week? Circuit City's liberal return policy makes this very easy. -->>>

Since there are no 720p HDTVs -- the answer is no. :(

But, if you use either the HD10's or the TVs up-converter then you can use any HDTV. I've heard nothing but great things about Hitachi's 53-inch.

I'ts about $2,700. There are others at only $1,500 -- but they are smaller and likely have compromises.

But whatever you get, you must get it ISF calibrated!

Does CC carry the HD1? -->>>
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old June 8th, 2003, 08:05 PM   #21
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Bottom line-

will the JVC deliver markedly better video (color, sharpness, clarity) than that as offered by current 3-ccd cameras?

Can the video be editied by FCP or any other NLE's as easily as current DV video? Or do we have to deal with mpeg-2 type footage and it's intracasies?

Inquiring minds want to know.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline  
Old June 8th, 2003, 08:07 PM   #22
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,527
<<<-- Originally posted by Steve Mullen : Since there are no 720p HDTVs -- the answer is no. : -->>>

I'm trying to understand this HDTV stuff, because *someday* I'll take the plunge. Why do you say this? The Sony WEGA LCD KLV-23HR1 sells for about $2,500 and claims to be 720p in the specs, with a resolution of 768x1280. Is this not true?

http://www.sonystyle.com/is-bin/INTE...ntentItemPage=
Boyd Ostroff is offline  
Old June 8th, 2003, 08:29 PM   #23
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Boyd,

I'm with you re: the interest in this camera. I have a Mitsubishsi 65" HDTV and am wondering if the footage is going to look HD-ish (spectacular) or just average? The Apple Cinema Display 23" is another question- how would the footage look there? (I'm running 1920X1200 res)

Can I edit the footage with FCP3 as easily as DV using the HD feature- or do I have to shoot in SD which I am assuming to mean Standard Def (miniDV)......lots of questions......is the standard def = to what our 3CCD cams are producing....??

..thank goodness for all the intelligent posters on these forums who can answer our questions.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline  
Old June 8th, 2003, 08:49 PM   #24
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
<<<-- Originally posted by Steve Nunez : Boyd,

I'm with you re: the interest in this camera. I have a Mitsubishsi 65" HDTV and am wondering if the footage is going to look HD-ish (spectacular) or just average? The Apple Cinema Display 23" is another question- how would the footage look there? (I'm running 1920X1200 res)

Can I edit the footage with FCP3 as easily as DV using the HD feature- or do I have to shoot in SD which I am assuming to mean Standard Def (miniDV)......lots of questions......is the standard def = to what our 3CCD cams are producing....??

..thank goodness for all the intelligent posters on these forums who can answer our questions. -->>>

No on FCP, but yes, I believe, on Premiere 6.5 for PC only.

Look at the specs, the HD10 is the lowest point that is considered HD, and yet it's still better than DV, as far as I can tell. I head back to Florida from L.A. next week and hope the company I'm buying from has another in stock (they have one but are predicting it will sell out quickly) for me to demo. So, look for a review from me, hopefully.

And the camera should be fine on your TV.

heath
9:04 AM, a new film coming from MPS Digital Studios
www.904am.com
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old June 8th, 2003, 08:55 PM   #25
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
When you say "no for FCP" is this because FCP doesn't edit mpeg-2 yet- if FCP4 can edit mpeg-2 will it then be possible or is it that you'd need some proprietary software that's pc only to edit the footage? Is the mpeg-2 coming in via firewire?
Could I still edit the DV material with FCP?

If FCP can edit mpeg-2 (has to be a future consideration) i'm wondering if it then can be used with this camera..if not then it's a camera for the non-Mac crowd which would be ashame.
I was already envisioning my future hawk videos/(nature) as being HD- big bold and beautiful on my tv set- why can't I ever be happy?????

(sorry about these silly questions- but i have got some cash burning a hole in my pocket and just trying to make sure my FCP system can edit the HD produced by this camera- or at the very least the DV stuff til Apple adds mpeg-2 functionality)
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline  
Old June 8th, 2003, 09:25 PM   #26
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
FCP 4 won't, but FCP 4.0.1 probably will. It comes with a not-so-great editor you can use with an XP system. And, though PCs are okay by me (in Linux), I don't like or use Windows!

You can edit DV (not sure about SD, but I'm sure it will) with it.

I hear ya, I have a 4+ year old XL-1 (anyone wanna buy it?) and need to upgrade. If you can wait, the rumored XL-2, which may come out this fall or next spring, may be HD. If Canon comes out with a seperate HD camera, the XL cameras will die. That's my theory.

heath
904am.com

<<<-- Originally posted by Steve Nunez : When you say "no for FCP" is this because FCP doesn't edit mpeg-2 yet- if FCP4 can edit mpeg-2 will it then be possible or is it that you'd need some proprietary software that's pc only to edit the footage? Is the mpeg-2 coming in via firewire?
Could I still edit the DV material with FCP?

If FCP can edit mpeg-2 (has to be a future consideration) i'm wondering if it then can be used with this camera..if not then it's a camera for the non-Mac crowd which would be ashame.
I was already envisioning my future hawk videos/(nature) as being HD- big bold and beautiful on my tv set- why can't I ever be happy?????

(sorry about these silly questions- but i have got some cash burning a hole in my pocket and just trying to make sure my FCP system can edit the HD produced by this camera- or at the very least the DV stuff til Apple adds mpeg-2 functionality) -->>>
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old June 9th, 2003, 03:23 AM   #27
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
<<<-- No on FCP, but yes, I believe, on Premiere 6.5 for PC only. -->>>

I've been editing sample clips using FCP 3.0 on my iMac for the last 2 weeks. And exporting them as MPEG-2-TS movies.

The currently missing link is a way to import and export the MPEG-2-TS via FireWire. When that function is released, one will be able to output edited files to D-VHS and very likely to Sony's BluRay HD-DVD recorder.

P 6.5 will not edit on the Mac.

But Vegas Video supposedly will edit fine. Something I will test when I get my review unit.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline  
Old June 9th, 2003, 03:37 AM   #28
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
<<<-- Originally posted by Boyd Ostroff : <<<-- Originally posted by Steve Mullen : Since there are no 720p HDTVs -- the answer is no. : -->>>

The Sony WEGA LCD KLV-23HR1 sells for about $2,500 and claims to be 720p in the specs, with a resolution of 768x1280. Is this not true? -->>>

You are likely right about the Sony. But I don't consider anything less than 53" to be HD -- no matter what its resolution.

The logic behind HD is enough rez to have great quality on pix big enough to fill your entire visual field.

NTSC should not be viewed any bigger than 27" -- although I find 35" to be fine.

That's why I'm interested. If I wanted a camera for TV viewing I'd choose the DVX100.

But for "cinema" (6 foot or bigger screen) viewing, not even a 480p DVD really looks good. Only HD looks good at these sizes. And, that's why I'm not overly concerned if cheaper 3 CCD DV cameras look better. They CAN"T look good when projected to cimema sizes.

And, JVC's market is "private cinema."
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline  
Old June 10th, 2003, 09:05 PM   #29
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,527
<<<-- Originally posted by Steve Mullen :The logic behind HD is enough rez to have great quality on pix big enough to fill your entire visual field. -->>>

Well that depends on how close your nose is to the screen! ;-) I see some big plasma screens that I like, but not quite ready to drop $6,000 to $8,000 yet....
Boyd Ostroff is offline  
Old June 14th, 2003, 08:14 AM   #30
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Loveland, CO
Posts: 101
Are any 19.7 Mbps samples available?

I would like to try the various MPEG editors I currently use with some 19.7 Mbps footage. I've viewed the DVD quality samples, but to actually do edits I will need the raw 19.7 streams.

Anyone know where I can acquire some/any?

Thanks.
__________________
Rodger Marjama
www.speedwing.net
Rodger Marjama is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network