HD to DV convertions hold up well at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U
All about the original single-CCD HDV camcorders from JVC.


 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 14th, 2003, 11:53 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 386
HD to DV convertions hold up well

Hi,
Just wanted to let people know that I did quite a bit of HD to DV anamorphic conversions this weekend from my HD1OU footage of a wedding that I shot using the JVC as a second camera...and the conversions hold up very well. My first camera on the shoot was my Ikegami HLDV7W ( equivalent to a Sony DSR-500WS ).
I used the JVC to hold a wide shot, and the two cameras images cut together very well, with little if any noticable difference in quality between the two, which says a lot for the JVC. I saturated the JVC picture a little in FCP's 3 way color corrector, but that's all.
I do think that shooting in HD makes the DV converted picture of a higher quality than it would otherwise be. The JVC picture looks a little softer than the Ikegami at DV, but nowhere near as noisy and pixelated as my old GL1 used to be.

I hope this is of some interest.
__________________
Paul
Paul Mogg is offline  
Old July 14th, 2003, 01:48 PM   #2
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
FCP help

Paul,

Two questions:

1. How do I get the download(s) to work with FCP to start capturing and editing? The SDK 16 or 17. I downloaded and installed the mpeg2 QT 6 encoder, but the SDK 16 and even the 17 keep defaulting into an unreadable (by my Apple) "file" when I open the folders.

2. Can you use an existing DV project on FCP and hook up the HD10 as a VTR (in DV mode, iLink also) and hit play from your timeline. My video signal going into the HD10 has "sparkles" on it, along with corresponding audio "hits." Now this is NOT on tape, fyi. This is just the video signal. Let me know if that happens to you. I've tried two different firewire cables with no luck and my friend's XL-1 was fine...

THANKS!

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old July 14th, 2003, 02:15 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 386
Hi Heath,
I just downloaded the Firewire SDK 16 and installed it, and the VirtualDVHS and DVHSVCap, or whatever it's called, were just there in one of the subdirectories, for DVHSCap you don't need to install anything else.
I haven't used the camera in DV mode or tried to control it from FCP in this mode, so I don't know how it would work. I'm just capturing HD using DVHSCap, demuxing and converting from HD to Quicktime DV using two shareware utilities call mpeg2decx and mgtx (I think those are the right names) then using the DV footage as you would any other. The conversion process is pretty time consuming however.

Hope this helps
__________________
Paul
Paul Mogg is offline  
Old July 14th, 2003, 02:50 PM   #4
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Paul,

Yes, that does work!

About the DV problems I'm having...The project in question was shot on an XL-1, which shouldn't mean anything (actually, it's two projects, one that was just photos scanned in with music), and when using the HD10 as a VTR in DV mode (not taping), I saw the video hits. It reminded me of dirty heads, but this was just the signal. If you can hook up a DV project you may have in FCP and run it through the HD10 in DV/VTR mode (no need to tape) and tell me if you get that or not. I can't call tech support until tomorrow (am at work now....). If you don't mind, Paul! :-)

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old July 14th, 2003, 03:15 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 386
Unfortunately I'm not working at home at the moment and don't have the JVC with me. I wouldn't actually recommend using any camera as a VCR as you'll wear it out pretty quickly with all the shuffling around of the heads Problems with cameras not being able to play tapes properly that were recorded on other manufacturers cameras are quite common, especially with Cannon shot stuff from what I hear, so I expect that's the problem you're experiening
__________________
Paul
Paul Mogg is offline  
Old July 14th, 2003, 03:23 PM   #6
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
<<<-- Originally posted by Paul Mogg : Unfortunately I'm not working at home at the moment and don't have the JVC with me. I wouldn't actually recommend using any camera as a VCR as you'll wear it out pretty quickly with all the shuffling around of the heads Problems with cameras not being able to play tapes properly that were recorded on other manufacturers cameras are quite common, especially with Cannon shot stuff from what I hear, so I expect that's the problem you're experiening -->>>

But what about those photos I scanned in? That's odd...

Well, I was using the HD10 as a VTR to link to a VCR to make VHS dubs, and I couldn't even do that with the scanned photos project. I'll just call ol' tech support tomorrow.

I shouldn't have sold my old (and taken off the market) Sony mini-dv VTR (the one without an LCD). I'll try and find one until someone makes and HDV/SD/DV mini-dv VTR... ;-)

THANKS!

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline  
Old July 15th, 2003, 09:01 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 327
HD to DV conversions in hardware vs. Software

Could any of the HD10 owners clear up a particular point for me?

I have a DV deck capable of accepting component inputs. I'm considering shooting in HD, then dumping the footage to DV by down-converting in the camera.

The question is, what would be the quality difference between the in-camera hardware conversion and the (lengthy) software conversion?

I'm not clear on how the camera outputs to Standard Definition. Is it anamorphic, letterboxed within a 4x3 frame, or user selectable?

How does the 30p to 60i conversion get handled by both approaches? Is identical information sent to both fields?
Scott Anderson is offline  
 

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The Archives > JVC GR-HD1U / JY-HD10U

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:16 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network